Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

February 24: Top Ten Favorite Heroines From Books

squire

1. Alanna; Tamora Pierce. Alanna is a rebel, who doesn’t let the fact that women aren’t allowed to become knights stop her from her dream. And she kicks butt at it.

emperor edge

2. Amaranthe; Lindsay Buroker. A woman who just won’t quit, with a creative (and a little insane) scheming mind.

Havoc

3. Dresdemona “Dred”; Ann Aguirre. She’s not entirely a good person, but she’s tough, and fierce, and loyal.

grave mercy

4. Ismae; Robin La Fevers. A convent of assassin nuns is already amazing, but Ismae is an especially kick butt example.

by the sword

5. Kerowyn; Mercedes Lackey. When someone kidnaps her brother’s fiancee, Kero doesn’t give in to despair–she goes after her.

matilda

6. Matilda; Roald Dahl. A sharp mind, voracious reader, and wicked sense of humor. How could you not like Matilda?

moon called

7. Mercedes “Mercy”; Patricia Briggs. Mercy is a shape-shifting coyote mechanic who runs fearlessly with werewolves.

scorpio races

8. Puck; Maggie Stiefvater. Puck dares to go where few brave men do–deadly races between killer horses from the sea, and she does it without compromising herself.

stray souls

9. Sharon; Kate Griffin. Sharon finds out she’s a shaman, and is shoved into a weird and magical world, and she does more than cope–she copes with sass.

deja dead

10. Temperance; Kathy Reichs. Smart, dedicated, determined to speak for the lost, this doctor is an impressive woman.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Great list, Caitlin, including some I’m familiar with, and love, as well. Oh, how I love Puck! Scorpio Races is one of my favorite books, ever! Beautiful, dark, scary, and filled with hope and love. *happy sigh*

    I like Temperance Brennan, too, and have enjoyed many of those books, and I’m in Mercy’s corner, as well. A good, solid, interesting heroine. And you know I love Amaranthe, though I confess to loving her assassin, Sicarius, even more. Fun!! I’ll be checking out some of the others you mention, too, that I haven’t read yet.

  2. Ismae sounds awesome! I’ve got to check that book out sometime so I can meet her! AND PUCK! I’ve got The Scorpio Races waiting on my shelf. I need to read it!!
    My TTT!

  3. Amanda Marie says:

    Awesome list! Puck made mine too. I think I need to give The Scorpio Races a re-read soon.

  4. Lauren says:

    I completely forgot about Ismae! I added Alanna to my list, too. Great list!

  5. lynnsbooks says:

    Matilda is a lovely character and a great book choice.
    Lynn 😀

  6. Amaranthe! I adore Emperor’s Edge (and Sicarius).

    Great choices!

What are your thoughts?

