Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

March 3: Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS from the past 3 years. Those numbered are part of a series, the rest are stand-alones.

dreams gods monsters

1. Dreams of Gods & Monsters (#3); Liani Taylor. Angels and chimera, locked in a battle where there aren’t clear cut good guys. This book gripped me and didn’t let go.

eight million gods

2. Eight Million Gods; Wen Spencer. A horror writer’s stories start coming true, and then beings claiming to be gods start showing up. One things for sure–the body count is rising. A dash of humor, and a fantasy-reality mix that speaks to me.

everything leads

3. Everything Leads to You; Nina LaCour. A dreamy love story, and story of self-discovery, where the romance is balanced instead of taking over the plot. Some lovely writing in this one.

The Fault in Our Stars

4. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. Two teens with cancer on an adventure. A sad story, but so good you don’t mind that it makes you cry.

indexing

5. Indexing; Seanan McGuire. Fairy tale characters fight back. A little dark, a lot of defiance. Fairy tales are warnings, and this book holds true to that.

Let's Pretend

6. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened; Jenny Lawson. It’s not because she’s a Texan, it’s because she’s amazingly weird. Makes me laugh.

long

7. The Long Earth (#1); Terry Pratchett; Stephen Baxter. Alternate versions of the Earth, stacked on top of each other. Travel can be dangerous, but the frontiers await. Some strange science and exciting adventures.

railsea

8. The Railsea; China Mieville. I know it’s weird that I like Moby Dick, but this is a more accessible (and strange) version, with trains over deadly earth and burrowing moles.

shaman rises

9. Shaman Rises (#9); C.E. Murphy. The last of the series, so not a good place to start. But it was a great final battle. Joanne Walker, shaman extraordinaire, is a great character.

Silvered

10. The Silvered; Tanya Huff. Mages and weres and a great big war. And two unlikely heroes trying to rescue their loved ones, taken behind enemy lines.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. Oooo. Everything Leads to You. That one was really close to making it onto my list. Great choice. I also really need to read Laini Taylor’s series already!
    My TTT!

  2. pennma05 says:

    Looks like you’ve got some great choices! I need to check out some of these! Here’s my TTT: https://thewornbookmark.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/top-ten-books-i-read-in-the-last-3-years/

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    I can’t believe it but I’ve not read any from your list this week! I need to finish the Laini Taylor books (reminder to self!) and Seanan McGuire is one of those authors that I’ve been looking at for a while now. I’ve just ordered Rosemary and Rue.
    Lynn 😀

  4. Marcia says:

    First time in a while that I’ve read nothing on your list. 😦 I’m way behind, I guess. Except, I can’t believe I missed ANYTHING by Seanan McGuire. Oh! I just realized I have that on my Kindle and somehow forgot it. Well, dang! I’ve got to get reading. She’s an author I never, ever miss. And I better take notes on a few more of these, too. But since the new Alpha & Omega just came out…and the new Chicagoland Vamps, and the new Devon Monk Infinity Bell…and I’m still hoarding the delicious 3rd Raven Cycle book, Stiefvater’s Blue Lily, Lily Blue…I guess I’ve got plenty to keep me busy.

    Love your Tuesday posts, Caitlin! Always food for thought, here.

    • caitlinstern says:

      You’re the second person to say that–maybe it’s an obscure list.
      And read Blue Lily, Lily Blue! It was amazing!

      • Marcia says:

        I’ve been teasing and taunting myself with Blue Lily, Lily Blue (and the final Odd Thomas) for weeks. Sometimes, I do that. But I didn’t want to read BLLB until I was over the flu, because I know how emotional that series makes me. It truly tears me apart, at times. Maggie Stiefvater is amazing. One of the best out there, for sure. I will read Blue Lily next, I think, as I’m still not ready to say goodbye to Oddie, yet.

  5. eviepea48 says:

    Nice list! Let’s Pretend This Never Happened has been sitting on my shelf for awhile. I really should jump on that!

  6. Hi Caitlin, thank you for stopping by my blog! These Top 10 Tuesdays are so fun, I’m so glad I’m finally doing them! I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone and some John Green books on my to-read list, I can’t wait to read them!

What are your thoughts?

