Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

March 10: Ten Books For Readers Who Like Humor.

It’s no secret I love a laugh, so here are some of my favorite chuckle-inducing tales.

breakfast of champions

1. Breakfast of Champions; Kurt Vonnegut. Satire at its best, a little dark, a little heart-breaking, and hysterical.

flat out love

2. Flat Out Love; Jessica Park. Julie heads off to college, but a housing mistake ends with her homeless, and she ends up living with an old friend of her mother’s.

gils all fright

3. Gil’s All Fright Diner; A. Lee Martinez. A werewolf and a vampire stop at a diner… and then are asked to stop a zombie infestation. They think it should be easy, but they’re so wrong!

hitchhiker's guide

4. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Douglas Adams. A trilogy of five–Adams was just like that–these short books flow smoothly into each other. What doesn’t go so smooth–Arthur Dent’s life, but it’s hilarious to watch him bumble around the universe, asking plaintively for tea.

hyperbole half

5. Hyperbole and a Half; Allie Brosh. Detailed drawings of dogs, and a very peculiar rendering of humans–but the art works for the story, which is strange and whimsical, contrasting some very real problems.

Ive got your number

6. I’ve Got Your Number; Sophie Kinsella. A woman loses her phone, and finds another one, deciding to use it instead–and she can’t help but interfere with the original owner’s life. Her well-meaning ‘help’ isn’t exactly what the original owner wants, though.

Let's Pretend

7. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened; Jenny Lawson. I can’t talk up this memoir enough–weird childhoods, ethical taxidermy, and some interesting tangents.

princess bride

8. The Princess Bride; William Goldman. A longer and more meandering story than the movie (if you’ve seen it)–but those tangents are well worth the read. How can you resist pirates and thieves and adventure?

stupidest angel

9. The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror; Christopher Moore. A little boy sees Santa get whacked upside the head, and wishes Santa wasn’t dead… and a less than bright angel brings all the dead back.

wee free men

10. Wee Free Men; Terry Pratchett. Everything Discoworld is funny–who can take a disc atop four elephants atop a sea turtle too seriously? But the wee free men, little blue kilted fae beings, who drink and swear incomprehensibly, are in their own level.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. lynnsbooks says:

    What a great list – loving 4, 8 and 10. I’ve not read any Vonnegut – and I never would have imagined them to be hysterical – I’ll have to take a look at that particular one.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Sam says:

    I need to read ‘Hyperbole and a Half.’ I loved ‘Let’s Pretend this Never Happened’ and I’ve heard Bosch’s book is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Hitchhiker’s Guide is the best!! Hyperbole and a Half is pretty darn funny too. Great picks!
    I spun the topic on its head and did ten comics for people who would LIKE to try them!
    🙂

  4. Marcia says:

    Taking note here. I’m ashamed to admit I’ve only read Vonnegut (many years ago) and Wee Free Men, which was the start of a new-found love for Terry Pratchett. The four Wee Free Men (Tiffany Aching) books are laugh out loud funny, every other line, and will forevermore be the standard by which I judge all humorous books. I can’t believe I was so late in discovering Pratchett’s humor.

    I’ll be checking out a few of these for sure. I’m particularly interested in Gil’s All Fright Diner. Sounds right up my alley. Thanks, Caitlin!

  5. moosha23 says:

    I’ve read the Hitchhiker’s, and The Wee Free Men. And those wee little things are BRILLIANT. Ah Terry Pratchett’s humour is on point. For everything…

What are your thoughts?

