Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

April 21: Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Authors.

1. Douglas Adams. One of my favorite childhood authors, who taught me all about hapless adventures, depressed robots, and super-intelligent mice.

magic shifts

2. Ilona Andrews. Kick-butt heroines, plenty of humor, and some spectacular world-building.

moon called

3. Patricia Briggs. Werewolves, a werecoyote, and dangerous fey creatures.

barrayar

4. Lois McMaster Bujold. I have several favorite series from this author, mostly a space opera with epic disasters and a fantasy with scary, scary, soul-eating monsters.

Storm Front

5. Jim Butcher. Smart-aleck wizard with awesome animal sidekicks, and plenty of humor.

something from nightside

6. Simon R. Green. A darker fantasy, with a dangerous city full of the weird, sometimes it’s wonderful sometimes it’s nightmares.

summon keeper

7. Tanya Huff. Another author with several wonderful series–my favorites involve a wizard; a house with a portal to hell; and a vampire working with a cop.

white gryphon

8. Mercedes Lackey. Another childhood favorite, with lots of magical worlds–griffins, magical horses, elementals, and magic-users of all kinds.

freedom landing

9. Anne McCaffrey. Dragons, telepaths, spaceships–most of them childhood staples.

mort

10. Terry Pratchett. A weird and satirical world, a lot like ours, which brought a great deal of laughter to my childhood, and does so still.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. Great list! Jim Butcher is awesome.

  2. lynnsbooks says:

    Haha – I love your list. I knew you’d come up with a stack of authors I’d missed! Damn!
    Lynn 😀

  3. Sierra says:

    I have only read the first Dresden Files book, but I can totally understand from it why Butcher would land on this list. He’s great!

What are your thoughts?

