Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

May 5: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read.

I left this list a little short, but it could be easily filled with the memoirs of celebrities famous for being famous, or stories about serial killers, or any number of political books.

da vinci

1. The Da Vinci Code; Dan Brown. I just don’t get this book, and have no desire to.

eat pray love

2. Eat Pray Love; Elizabeth Gilbert. Some people like this book, but it doesn’t seem to be my kind of thing.

fifty shades

3. Fifty Shades of Grey; E.L. James. Everything I’ve heard says this is a poorly written book, with wooden characters and an abusive relationship. Pass.

game of thrones

4. A Game of Thrones; George R. R. Martin. I have heard too much of how he likes to torture his reads to take this risk.

guilty

5. Guilty: Liberal “Victims” and their Assault on America; Ann Coulter. I sincerely hope, whatever your politics, that you stay away from the books that bash a group of people–no matter who wrote them

I want to tell you

6. I Want to Tell You; O.J. Simpson. Why? Just… why?

Lolita

7. Lolita; Vladimir Nabokov. I started this book, but I will never get back to it.

ulysses2

8. Ulysses; James Joyce. I tried, but I’m not sure the pages I read even counted as being really read. I think it killed brain cells.

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

7 responses »

  1. I am with you on your first three 🙂

  2. nikihawkes says:

    Great list! I don’t want to read any of them either LOL 😉

  3. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    I had to read Ulysses for a class and you can rest assured, at least in my opinion, that you are not missing anything. I didn’t like the book and it was just a pain to try and get through.

What are your thoughts?

