Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

Top Ten Tues heart

May 12: Ten Authors I REALLY Want To Meet.

This one was more difficult than I expected, many of my favorites are gone. Who are the authors you’d like to show a little love to?

moon called

Patricia Briggs. Awesome kick-butt werewolves and were-coyotes, and a fun sense of humor.

miles vorkosigan

Lois McMaster Bujold. I adore her manic, off-the-wall hero so very much. And she built a world I’d actually want to live in.

abundance of katherines

John Green. Not only is he a good writer, he’s also an awesomely geeky and charitable human being.

Silvered

Tanya Huff. So may wonderful characters and worlds to chose from! Love how inclusive her characters are, too.

by the sword

Mercedes Lackey. A favorite author of my childhood. I so wanted a Companion!

winter long

Seanan McGuire. Lovely, dark fey worlds, and beautifully constructed relationships. And she writes some nifty horror, too!

wake robin ridge

Marcia Meara. Marcia has been a blog-buddy of mine for a while now, and I have edited three of her lovely books and one poetry collection. But she’s on the other side of the country, so I haven’t met her… yet!

railsea

China Mieville. These books make my brain hurt, but in a good way. Who comes up with Moby Dick with trains and burrowing moles? This guy.

diamond age

Neal Stephenson. Such a twisty mind, he has to be fun to talk to. Though I would ask him why he does in one book what could be done in two or three.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    OMG, I can’t believe I’m on your list!! 😀 I’m not nearly so interesting as these other candidates, but the feeling is mutual. You are definitely an editor I’d love to meet. In fact, so far, you are the ONLY editor I’d love to meet, being as how you’re the only one I know. 😀 But better than that, you are a FRIEND I’d love to meet, so we’ll have to make it happen one day. I’ve never been to Texas, and I’ve always wanted to see the Alamo. Maybe a future vacation is in store, and you can show me all the wonderful sights of your city. Or someday, you can come here, and I’ll take you down the St. Johns River, to watch the gators and manatees and all the beautiful birds.

    We’ll have to figure out a way! In the meantime, thank goodness for the internet! I’ve got to read some of these authors you want to meet. Especially Tanya Huff & Mercedes Lackey. You’ve mentioned them often, and I started the Huff book about the emporium, but somehow lost my way. I need to go back and give it another try. Oh, and top of MY list, in case you’re wondering? Jim Butcher. For sure. 😀 Surprise, surprise!

    • caitlinstern says:

      Hey, I think you’re plenty interesting! 😀 Jim Butcher almost made my list, but not quite.

      • Marcia says:

        You need a longer list! 😀 Sir Terry Pratchett would be on mine, too, if he were still with us. I’m working my way through the Disc World series, and I find myself highlighting a line or phrase on almost every page. What a mind he had! SO funny.

        And thanks for thinking me interesting. I guess I could be…in the way that certain odd fossils are interesting. 😀

  2. Marcia says:

    Reblogged this on The Write Stuff and commented:
    Look Who Made Caitlin’s List! 😀

  3. It would be so much fun to hang out with John Green for a while. He’s so nerdy!
    My TTT!

What are your thoughts?

