Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

May 19:  Top Ten Tuesday Freebie — YOUR CHOICE OF TOPIC.

So many choices… Let’s see… Top Ten TBR books about librarians. Because books are amazing, and so are people who deal with them.

If you’ve read these, let me know what you thought!

alcatraz and the evil librarians

1. Alcatraz versus the Evil Librarians; Brandon Sanderson.

dewey

2. Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World; Vicki Myron.

giants house

3. The Giant’s House; Elizabeth McCraken.

historian

4. The Historian; Elizabeth Kostova.

name of the rose

5. The Name of the Rose; Umberto Eco.

people of the book

6. People of the Book; Geraldine Brooks.

shadow of the wind

7. The Shadow of the Wind; Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

thirteenth tale

8. The Thirteenth Tale; Diane Setterfield.

uncommon reader

9. The Uncommon Reader; Alan Bennett.

unshelved

10. Unshelved; Bill Barnes.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

19 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I will read pretty much anything by Brandon Sanderson, so definitely looking for that one. I read The Historian, and while I liked the book overall, it felt very slow to me at times, and I almost put it down. It’s one of those cases where my mood at the time may have interfered with my enjoyment.

    I remember really enjoying The Thirteenth Tale, though I read it a few years back, and don’t remember the details right now. I have it on my shelves, though. Might need to take another look. The rest are new to me. I know one…Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines, about a librarian who can pull magic out of books. The premise is a lot of fun, though there were some things about the book I didn’t like. Still, what a concept, eh?

    And another one, which is a much more satisfying read, A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter. Yes, there’s a vampire, but this is not a typical vampire story in any way. That part is almost secondary to the story, at times. VERY well researched, and with strong writing, and characters you really connect with. I’ve read the first two books in the series, and enjoyed both. Making note to self to download book 3. It’s very thoughtful and nicely paced, rather than an action-filled romp. (Ignore the new cover. The old one was much better, even if the man’s face looked far too young. But the new one looks like a typical paranormal offering, and it’s not.)

    Fun topic, Caitlin, and I’ll be looking for several of these.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I have read the Libromancer series, actually. I loved that Hines stole Smudge from another series he wrote.
      I’ll check out A Hidden Fire, and maybe add it to my TBR, thanks! 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        Smudge was my favorite character. 🙂 I seem to remember I didn’t like the female character, or something. I didn’t read any more in the series, but maybe I should. I did love the concept, and for ME to enjoy a spider is saying something, since I’m a bit of an arachniphobe.

    • caitlinstern says:

      …and I’ve read A Hidden Fire, too. Great minds think alike!

      • Marcia says:

        Now this one, I really liked a lot. And the second book, as well, but kept getting stuck near the beginning of the third one. Maybe have to give that another try. Yes, we great minds are often found swimming in the same pond. 😀

  2. pennma05 says:

    You should check out Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine when it is released on July 7th! It’s a really interesting take on the world if the great library at Alexandria hadn’t burned.

    • Marcia says:

      Oooh, I’m glad to hear about this one. I really enjoyed Caine’s Weather Warden series, and Morganville, too. Sadly, I can’t seem to get into the Working Stiff one, but this sounds pretty interesting. So glad I saw your comment. Going to go add it to my TBR list. Thanks!

      • caitlinstern says:

        I’m looking forward to reading it, too. Not all her books are a hit for me, either, but I like enough that I decided to give this one a shot.

        • Marcia says:

          I just loved Weather Wardens & the spin-off. And I devoured ever Morganville book straight to the end. But the concept in Working Stiff was just too…icky. That’s my professional diagnosis, and I’m stickin’ with it. 😀 Can’t wait to try another of her series, though, as I think her writing is pretty strong. This one sounds very intriguing, for sure.

    • caitlinstern says:

      I got Ink and Bone from Penguin’s First to Read, actually! I’ll be reading it very soon… 😀

  3. lynnsbooks says:

    Read and enjoyed Nos 4, 5, 7 and 8.
    Great list.
    Lynn 😀

  4. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    I read The Historian quite a few years ago now, but I remember really liking it!

What are your thoughts?

