I’ve seen a bunch of people mention they haven’t read Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and that they’d like to start, but are intimidated by the 41 books he’d published in the series. (You’ll be missed, Sir Pratchett!)

It’s a lot of books, true. And if you’re one of those people who must do things in order, they’re numbered–good luck!

This post is for everyone else. The series arcs are character-focused, so you can read one and then move onto another without missing anything. Or only read the character arcs that appeal, since there are only so many hours in a day.

This is one of the shorter series, and also the most modern. It follows Moist von Lipwig, reformed con artist, as he struggles to make the city of Ankh-morpork’s Post Office, Mint, and then a train system work.

going postal

Going Postal. Moist Von Lipwig, confidence man, is facing the hangman’s rope in the morning. Then Vetinari, the Patrician, offers him a choice–hang, or save the post office. This won’t be an easy task–possibly an impossible one.

making money

Making Money. Now Moist Von Lipwig has to save the Mint–he’s counterfeited money before, and now he has to figure out to prevent similar crimes.

raising steam

Raising Steam. The steam engine comes to Ankh-Morpork. And the city isn’t too pleased with the progress. But you can’t halt time…

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Making notes, here. 🙂 However, I must say, I’m moving through the series fairly quickly, given how little time I have to read. You already know I ready the Tiffany Aching arc, and fell in love with the Wee Free Men, but now I’ve decided I WILL read every single word he ever wrote. I’m on Book 3, and enjoying them all so far. I really liked Rincewind in all his sniveling cowardice, and enjoyed the first 2 books immensely. I like Granny Weatherwax, anyway, since I met her in the Aching books, but it’s funny to see her relationship with Esk, who may or may not become the Discworld’s first female wizard. I’m determined to read them all, but I just may skip around a bit, from arc to arc. (Would it be weird to say I want more Death? So funny.)

  2. Very helpful, thanks! I’m one of those who has never read Pratchett because I find the whole thing confusing. But I have a distinct weakness for con men, so this might be a good place to give Discworld a try.

What are your thoughts?

