Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

June 30: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

Coincidentally enough, I have so far this year rated exactly ten books at five stars on Goodreads.

sweep in peace

1. Sweep in Peace (#2); Ilona Andrews. Currently put up in installments on their website, will be published in ebook later. About an innkeeper who wields a mean broom, alien vampires, an ancient war, and so many things that are more than they seem.

karen memory

2. Karen Memory; Elizabeth Bear. A story with some edge to it, about prostitutes, and a very bad man determined to take control of a city.

vision in silver

3. Vision in Silver (#3); Anne Bishop. Start from the beginning with this one–blood prophets, and seriously scary vampires, werewolves, etc. They are Others–and they were never human.

dead heat

4. Dead Heat; Particia Briggs. Part of a series. Werewolves are very well represented on this list! An Omega werewolf is outside the pack structure. This doesn’t make her aggressive, but neither does it make her a pushover!

valor

5. Valor; Megan Lavey-Heaton and Isabelle Melancon. An amazing collection about powerful female fairy tale characters. Mostly comics, a few text stories.

uprooted2

6. Uprooted; Naomi Novik. A story about a dragon who isn’t a dragon… and a sacrifice who isn’t at all prepared for what happens next.

blink of the screen

7. A Blink of the Screen; Terry Pratchett. A collection of stories, full of the humor and weirdness that makes a Pratchett story so special.

firefight

8. Firefight (#2); Brandon Sanderson. All supers are evil. Or are they? Maybe there’s a way to fight it…

blue lily

9. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (#3); Maggie Stiefvater. Dangerous magic, a sleeping king, and a prophesied death. Life just keeps getting stranger.

saga 4

10. Saga (Vol. 4); Brian K. Vaughan. A sort of less teen-angst Romeo and Juliet, with aliens, and a war that engulfs planets. There’s a lot of people who want our heroes dead… and that’s not all their problems.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

7 responses »

  1. I’ve heard really good things about Uprooted! I’m definitely going to have to add that to my TBR.
    My TTT

  2. Mari says:

    Looooved Uprooted! I still have to read half the books you’ve mentioned in your list, but with all the high praise for them, I can’t wait to get started on them (gah, Stiefvater especially has been in the blogging circles for some time now, I just have to get myself a copy of book 1 to see what I’m missing).

    • A friend forced me to start on Stiefvater by buying me Scorpio Races, and guilting me into reading it. She’s a great writer–a little dark, a little hopeful, very imaginative, with quite a turn of phrase.

  3. Hi Caitlin, I have a new web host and email provider, and yours is the first email that has come through!

    I’m still figuring it out. You have some really interesting-sounding books on your list!

    Jean

  4. I read Saga a while ago and I loved the art and the overall story line. It’s very… graphic, but for those of age, it’s a great read. I can’t wait for volume 5!

    Brandon Sanderson… Did you like the story or the writing or both or how did you feel about it? I want to read the mistborn trilogy but all three books are pretty huge!

    • Yeah, it’s not PG, for sure. But a great story.

      The story is interesting–a red star that makes some people super-powered. And all of them are evil. There’s a small group of normal humans trying to protect themselves, and figure out why it works that way. The books are fairly short, too.

What are your thoughts?

