Hope everyone who celebrates it had a great Fourth, and everyone who doesn’t celebrate still had a great weekend! I spent the weekend in several small towns on the Texas coast, mostly Refugio, Fulton, Rockport, and Portland.

I was there for an art festival, and there was lots of art–painting, sculptures, jewelry, woodworking, and so on. And there was the art outside the festival.

IMG_4590IMG_4633

Big art and little art…

IMG_4596IMG_4591

Wall art and sidewalk art…

IMG_45872015-07-04 21.27.10

Moving art, and static art.

And, of course, I found not one, but three bookstores. One little local shop, with a pretty good selection, and some lovely smelling candles to greet you at the door. Another a big warehouse, with shelves and shelves stacked with dusty books, and a friendly bookstore cat. And then the final one, with some impressively close together shelves.

20150705_153425

Of course, I came home with more books to add to my towering TBR pile. Because self-control is for other people!

IMG_4640

Happy reading, everyone!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Great photos, and a wonderful assortment of books! I think you’ll enjoy the Devon Monk books. I really loved her steampunk series, too, though, try as I might, I can’t get into the Allie Beckstrom books, or the spin-off. I didn’t get pulled into that world. But I’d love to revisit the Age of Steam, and I really like the House Immortal ones. I need to get that Gaiman book. And I just finished Wyrd Sisters. I do love the Disc World. And just so you know, thanks to you, I now have a T-SHIRT coming that I’ll end up hanging on my library wall, probably, since t-shirts are too hot for me to wear, even in winter. Ha. But I WILL have it. 😀

What are your thoughts?

