I love Austin for all their Little Free Libraries. There’s the free books, but also the sense of community. Book lovers, sharing their stories with everyone. I brought five books to leave, and ended up taking three with me.

IMG_4569IMG_4571

The little stool in front of this one shows how it’s for children’s books, mostly. As does the decorations on the inside–I love how Curious George is peeking out through the gaps.

IMG_4562

And speaking of watching, this Little Free Library has a friend keeping an eye on it. This is definitely a non-judgmental tree.

IMG_4565

Polka dots!

IMG_4560

This one looks like it grew out of the ground. I’m not sure if someone re-purposed a dead shrub or little tree, but it looks like it.

IMG_4573IMG_4575

And this fairly standard two-shelf boxy number is where I left my last and favorite book that I brought with me, Hospital Station by James White. I hope someone finds it and loves it as much as I do!

Here’s the three titles that caught my eye:

LFL June 2015

Zombie Spaceship Wasteland; The Devil in the White City; and The Summer I Saved the World… in 65 Days.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I really love this concept, and wish I knew where some of these might be in my area. I wonder if I can Google that? The creativity in the boxes is so much fun, and the idea of sharing is always cool. Speaking of that, thanks for sharing these photos with us. Maybe the thing to do is be the first one in my area to put one up. 😀

What are your thoughts?

