Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

July 28: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds (love reading, are writers, work at a bookstore, etc.)

fahrenheit 451

1. Fahrenheit 451; Ray Bradbury. Guy Montag risks a lot for books–he’s definitely a book nerd.

don quixote

2. Don Quixote; Miguel Cervantes. So what if he tilts at windmills? He still loves a good story.

matilda

3. Matilda; Roald Dahl. A very smart little book lover, and one not willing to let the bullies win.

big over easy

4. The Big Over Easy; Jasper Fforde. Thursday Next loves books and solves book crimes. What more could you want?

The Fault in Our Stars

5. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. Hazel Grace doesn’t just love books, she infects someone else with her nerdy fandom. Which is perfect.

light fantastic

6. The Light Fantastic; Terry Pratchett. There’s plenty of books with the Librarian, a transformed orangutan in them, but this is the first, I think. He loves books, even the ones that bite (magic does weird things to books.)

Harry Potter

7. Harry Potter series; J.K. Rowling. Hermione is one of my favorite book nerds–she puts her reading to good use.

Mr penumbra

8. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore; Robin Sloan. Mr. Penumbra is a book lover of magical proportions.

library wars

9. Library Wars; Kiiro Yumi. Iku Kasahara is a brave book lover–the first woman on the library defense force (think cops for books, since censorship is really dangerous these days.)

book thief

10. The Book Thief; Markus Zusak. Liesel Meminger saves a book from burning, holding the still-hot book next to her skin despite the pain. That’s dedication!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. Guy Montag! I can’t believe I forgot about him. He’s a perfect choice for this list! My TTT

  2. Marcia says:

    Ahem…Sarah Gray in Wake-Robin Ridge, an ex-librarian, finally writing for herself. And soon, Hunter Painter, in Finding Hunter, a man obsessed with writing in journals he’s kept since he was 5. I won’t mention who edited these two…you…or who wrote them…me…but I’m throwing them out there, anyway, because I love books about readers and writers, too. 😀 Even mine. 😉

  3. lipsyy says:

    I can’t believe I forgot about Matilda!

  4. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    I think Hermione is on every list out there this week, including mine! I also had Matilda. And definitely almost put Guy Montag, Mr. Penumbra, and Liesel. Great list! This is mine: https://dreamingthroughliterature.wordpress.com/2015/07/28/top-ten-tuesday-18/

  5. hermionefowl says:

    I haven’t read a lot of those, obviously I need to! I agree, Liesal is very dedicated. I love books, but I don’t think I could risk my life for them

What are your thoughts?

