Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

August 18: Top Ten Of Your Auto-buy Authors (no matter the genre or what it’s about…you’ll buy it from these authors!).

All these authors have produced multiple books that I loved. All these come with a caveat–I won’t really buy anything from any author–but these are the ones I am most likely to buy whatever they write, if it sounds good.

clean sweep

1. Ilona Andrews. I love their Kate Daniels series, Clean Sweep, and the start of the Hidden Legacy series. The Edge series was pretty good, too. Some excellent urban fantasy, slow burning romances, and humor.

Hob bargain

2. Patricia Briggs. The werewolf Omega and Mercy Thompson books are both excellent, with some kickbutt heroines, and I enjoyed several of her shorter series/stand alones–Hob’s Bargain, especially.

sharing knife 1sharing knife2

3. Lois McMaster Bujold. Miles Vorkosigan is an amazing, fast-talking, manic hero who’ll stop at nothing–the Sharing Knife a fascinating and slightly creepy dystopian, with scary, scary monsters.

Storm Front

4. Jim Butcher. This is all about Dresden, but I’m curious about his new steampunk series.

neverwhere

5. Neil Gaiman. I don’t need to read his Sandman series again, but I will re-read books like The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neverwhere, American Gods, etc.

furiously happy

6. Jenny Lawson. She’s only put out one book, with a second soon–but I also read her blog religiously, and that’s a couple books worth of writing.

rosemary and rue

7. Seanan McGuire. (a.k.a Mira Grant) Whatever she writes, so far, has been good to wonderful–bloggers in a zombie apocalypse, urban fantasy with elves, ghost stories…

kraken

8. China Mieville. Books that make you think: about geography, language, obsession, religion, culture, and more.

heart of stone

9. C.E. Murphy. Some excellent urban fantasy, with a shaman; or gargoyles, dragons, vampires, and djinn (oh my!).

fangirl

10. Rainbow Rowell. Reliably funny and cute, with a few more serious than others. But even the darkest ones have some light moments.

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    We share a lot of folks on this list, Butcher, Andrews, McGuire, and Briggs, in particular, though when I tried her Hob’s Bargain some years back, I had trouble getting into it. Maybe I’ll give it another go. I’ve widened my fantasy horizons since then. I would also add (for ME) Chloe Neill, whose Chicagoland Vampire series never fails to engage me…or at least Ethan Sullivan never does. Also, Rachel Caine, who has seldom disappointed me, and whose Weather Wardens series was a blast. But her latest, Ink & Bone is going to top everything she’s done, I think. And Dean Koontz, who has been a standard of mine for years, producing only one or two books I didn’t care for. But he redeemed himself so thoroughly with his Odd Thomas series, that I will always give him the benefit of the doubt with each new book.

    Great topic!

    • That’s because you have good taste. 😉

      I’m less fond of some authors you love, and vice versa. But variety makes the world a more interesting place, right?

      • Marcia says:

        True, but I’m pretty sure you like Ink & Bone, so I’m giving you Rachel Caine as one we both enjoy, at least some of. 🙂 Some of the ones you list, I haven’t read yet, and will some day find out about for myself. Mieville, for instance. But I definitely wasn’t able to finish Heart of Stone. Another one I might have to give a second chance to. Sometimes it’s about the mood I’m in while reading.

  2. Vanessa says:

    The one Miéville book I’ve read was enough to completely win me over – I can’t wait to read more of his books.

  3. moosha23 says:

    Ooh Rainbow Rowell is awesome, no? I liked Fangirl and am very curious about her other works. And of course – you’ve already mentioned it – but Gaiman really can do no wrong! 😀

What are your thoughts?

