This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is from an unnamed, just-started WIP, with the placeholder name of “Bluebeard,” because it’s very loosely based on that fairy tale. Every year on the Winter Solstice, a sorcerer takes a sixteen-year-old girl as his bride, divorcing her and exiling her before he takes a new bride the next year.

Summary: The sorcerer has just married the narrator without much interest, spelled them into the tower, told her to cook dinner, and after they eat, told her to join him in the study, where he ignores her and makes her wait.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

Minutes slipped by, and I cleared my throat, which earned me another glance, but nothing more. The pen scritched across the page, and he frowned, crossed something out, and kept writing.

Twisted pieces of paper littered the floor. I scooped up two, and threw the first, which bounced off his shirt with a quiet thwack.

That got his attention. He stared wide-eyed at me, at the second piece of paper in my hand, then back to my face. “What are you doing,” he said each word precisely, like dropping a pebble into a well, with no inflection.

“You asked me to come,” I pointed out, trying to sound reasonable, as if I hadn’t been throwing paper at him.

*    *    *

This story is very loosely based on Bluebeard. The sorcerer is cursed, and the brides are caught up in the curse, though the nearby villagers don’t know how or why. He keeps the kingdom safe with his magic, and his brides tie him to a land he couldn’t otherwise protect. There are other ways to do this tying–but his curse demands a bride.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

19 responses »

  1. Gemma Parkes says:

    Great scene, love your simile about the pebble! I can picture these two so clearly!

  2. I bet this is the first time one of the brides was sassy. Fun snippet and a cliff hanger!

  3. Alexis Duran says:

    I love that she did that! Very fun snippet.

  4. Ed Hoornaert says:

    If he’s truly into being left alone (as he seems to be) he picked the wrong girl this time.

    • If only he got to choose… he would not have picked this girl! And yes, being forced to interact with them drives him a little nuts. She’s going to be much worse than usual, too.

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    He’s got another think coming if he expected a submissive bride!

  6. elainecsc2013 says:

    I really like this girl!

  7. I LOVE her. she is the best heroine, with so much attitude. Excellent excerpt!

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    I love that she isn’t afraid to gain his attention–anyway she can. Great snippet.

  9. I am always left hanging with this story. Love her boldness. I can see him looking up from the desk. Great scene!

  10. I love her (BTW, what is her name?)! I thoroughly enjoy the way she stands up to him and does the unexpected. Great snippet.

What are your thoughts?

