This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is from a WIP, with the placeholder name of “Bluebeard,” very loosely based on that fairy tale. Every year on the Winter Solstice, a sorcerer takes a sixteen-year-old girl as his bride, divorcing her and exiling her before he takes a new bride the next year.

Summary: The sorcerer has married the narrator without much interest, spelled them into the tower, told her to make dinner, then join him in her study, where he began an interview where he asked for her skills and goals for the year of marriage.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

“What is your name?”

I stared at him for a moment, before recovering myself. “You didn’t need it before, why do you want it now?”

“Are you going to make me hunt it down, you difficult woman?”

“Gwyn,” I said. “My name is Gwyn, sorcerer.”

“I don’t see why you judge, when you clearly don’t know mine.”

“It’s Aamir, but people call you the Mire.” I refrained from commenting on what I had learned about how he’d gained such an inauspicious title.
*    *    *

This story is very loosely based on Bluebeard. The sorcerer is cursed, and the brides are caught up in the curse, though the nearby villagers don’t know how or why. He keeps the kingdom safe with his magic, and his brides tie him to a land he couldn’t otherwise protect. There are other ways to do this tying–but his curse demands a bride.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

22 responses »

  1. I love their back and forth, Caitlin. It really draws in the reader, I think. And I like where this story is going 🙂 Good snippet!

    • Thanks! There’s going to be a lot of push and pull in this relationship. Like the next day, when this very active, outdoorsy woman realizes she’s not going outside for a whole year.

  2. Gemma Parkes says:

    Gwyn is a strong, interesting character. I’m enjoying her attitude!

  3. Kim Magennis says:

    Well done on the development of the characters through their dialogue. Poor Aamir has been around too many weak women. It’s going to be fun watching him learn how to handle Gwynn.

  4. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I think she needs to earn his attention before she can earn his respect–because clearly he doesn’t respect her one tiny bit. And now she’s chipping away at him.

    • One year is long enough to get attached to someone, and to make it painful to lose them, if you’re not careful. But he has learned to be very careful, indeed. She has a lot to overcome!

  5. I just love how this is developing. He’s going to have to get used to a girl who isn’t intimidated by him. At least she’s somewhat tactful. 🙂

  6. And so it goes with wonderful dialogue , he must weaken. Love her feisty attitude.

    • They haven’t, to this point, called each other by their names. But they had very different reasons–he didn’t know hers and didn’t much care, but she’s just being a bit rude because she can. Feisty is right!

  7. Alexis Duran says:

    Ah, I like it. The gloves are coming off. He’d better up his game.

  8. I really enjoy the verbal fencing between these two and how the wizard usually doesn’t do so well. Excellent excerpt!

  9. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    I like that she doesn’t let him intimidate her. I have a hunch he’ll like that too. 🙂

  10. Love it!!! He’s intrigued by her and I love Gwyn’s snappy comments. Never a dull moment in this story. Great work!

  11. Whitney says:

    Shoot dang, she’s not afraid to throw some shaaaaaade!

What are your thoughts?

