This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is from a WIP, with the placeholder name of “Bluebeard,” very loosely based on that fairy tale. Every year on the Winter Solstice, a sorcerer takes a sixteen-year-old girl as his bride, divorcing her and exiling her before he takes a new bride the next year.

Summary: The sorcerer has married the narrator without much interest, spelled them into the tower, told her to make dinner, then join him in her study, where he began an interview where he asked for her skills and goals for the year of marriage.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

“That is all, except for one thing, wife.” He emphasized the last word possessively.

I waited.

“You’re comely enough. Should you get lonely in the night, my room is at the top of the tower, with the blue door.”

For a long moment, all I could do is stare at him. “No.” I stood to go, jumbled responses to his rudeness fighting in my head, but none of them ones I dared speak aloud.

“You need to work on your lying, too.”

I glanced back at him, and the piece of paper still in my hand bounced off his nose right before the door swung shut.

*    *    *

This story is very loosely based on Bluebeard. The sorcerer is cursed, and the brides are caught up in the curse, though the nearby villagers don’t know how or why. He keeps the kingdom safe with his magic, and his brides tie him to a land he couldn’t otherwise protect. There are other ways to do this tying–but his curse demands a bride.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

35 responses »

  1. Oho! Really? He tips his hand, just a little. At least waiting for her is better than the potential alternative. I love that his door is blue. 🙂

  2. Frank Fisher says:

    He IS rude. No wonder she can’t find the right words to retort back. Neat snippet!

  3. Blue door, huh? What a charming invitation – not! Enjoyed the snippet as always. I wasn’t quite clear about the piece of paper? Did she crumple it and throw it at him? Or….?

  4. Alexis Duran says:

    Quite the charmer, isn’t he? I think he’s pretty much made sure that he’s going to have go knocking on HER door.

  5. Wonderfully funny, blue door and all. She’s got him spinning

  6. Kim Magennis says:

    Such a man! No worries about his ‘comeliness’! Excellent snippet as usual Caitlin

  7. Hehe… great snippet. Me thinks he’s not the only one in a bit of a spin.

  8. Eleri Stone says:

    They’re in for a rocky ride. Should be fun!

  9. Well, isn’t he presumptuous? I think he’ll have to try a little harder to win his bride over! Nice scene!

  10. Ed Hoornaert says:

    You handle the subtext (the things she DOESN’T say) beautifully. I’m enjoying this story a lot because of the way you write it.

  11. Hm, what a character! Gwyn’s (I think that was her name) not going anywhere with him for a while. Love how she hold’s her tongue. Nice scene!

  12. ED Martin says:

    I wonder if all his brides are as feisty as Gwyn? I’m guessing not – this marriage should be interesting for both of them.

  13. elainecsc2013 says:

    I don’t think his ‘technique’ is working on this bride.

  14. Haha! I’d throw that paper too. Can you please write faster, Caitlin? I do want to read this story. Outstanding snippet!

  15. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    He’s doing a great job of chasing her away…for now. lol

What are your thoughts?

