The Bloggess, Jenny Lawson, is on tour for her new book, Furiously Happy. And I went to see her!

Bloggess 2015

She read two chapters from her new book, and answered a few questions about her writing, how she got started blogging, her work-family balance, dealing with triggering writing issues, an adventure with Victor buying a taxidermy beaver and getting a fraud alert on their credit card, and her favorite Doctor (Doctor Donna).

And then I stood in a very long line to get my book signed–definitely worth it, because she is just the kind of wonderfully strange that makes you think ‘here are my people. We are a bit nervous, and nerdy, and possibly obsess too much over cat pictures and tv shows, but that’s okay.’

We had a nice brief chat while she signed my book. She complimented my dress, and if she’s wearing her pajamas as she threatened to do online, she has some very nice pjs. I told her we had gone to the same university, and that I really hoped she could make it to their writer’s conference some year. (It would have been awesome is she’d gone while I was there, but I’m willing to share with future generations.) Because she would really bring up the cool factor. And how many best-selling alums do we have?

IMG_4671

Signing cramps are probably a downside to being a famous writer, but she makes it look pretty fabulous (and swoopy.)

IMG_4669

I am not responsible for the “vagina” stickers on the table, by the way. Though I am not surprised by their presence. Bloggess fans are weird and wonderful.

This was the first stop in her tour–you might be able to catch her when she comes near you. I promise, it’s worth it! You will laugh several times, at the very least.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

