Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

October 6:  Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit (aka ten book series I think I’m going to abandon, ten bookish habits I want to quit, ten authors I quit reading, ten types of books I’m quitting, ten tropes I want to stop reading about, ten books I marked as DNF (did not finish) recently, etc.)

There’s not a lot of bookish things I’m determined to quit, so this is going to be a mixed bag, and nowhere near ten.

pride prescience

1.Carrie Bebris’ Darcy Mysteries. I should probably stop reading P & P spin offs, but that isn’t going to happen. This one, however, has lost my attention a couple books ago.

2. Erasures. I don’t put did not finish books on Goodreads, because I feel bad about rating something I didn’t complete. But I need another way to keep track of them–to quit erasing them, so I can remember down the line that I tried. (This also means any DNFs can’t go on this list, sadly.)

heist

3. Janet Evanovich’s Fox and O’Hare. Cute mysteries, but not entertaining enough.

4. Late nights. Another thing I’m not too likely to succeed at, but I should quit reading for hours before bed. Just one more page . . .

love in the time of dragons

5. Katie MacAlister’s dragon romances. I loved a few books of her earlier series, but there’s a few series that have wandered off into territory that doesn’t work for me.

maplecroft

6. Cherie Priest’s Borden Dispatches. I read the first book, and just didn’t like it. So far, I have resisted the second book to see if it gets better.

7. Sticking to the End. Even when a series gets away from me, and I lose interest, I have a very hard time quitting. I need to learn to quit not quitting, I guess.

What about you?

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    The only thing I can reliably say I’ve quit is reading books that bore me. Once the Boredom Bug checks in, I close the covers. Okay, there’s one other. Unlike you, I’ve really enjoyed the 4 Evanovich/Goldberg books (like eating junk food…can’t stop), however, I definitely DID quit reading Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. I stuck it out until the one with the giraffe, because, formulaic or not, the books always made me laugh. But that one was just a bust, and I realized I was really tired of the triangle relationship between Stephanie, Morelli, and Ranger. It was bordering on sleazy, and I saw no likelihood of that ever being resolved. So I made up my own ending, and won’t read any more.

    I also quit one or two Urban Fantasy series that took themselves too seriously, and tried to interject real life politics into the world of werewolves and vampires. I read to ESCAPE real life politics, so when it rears its ugly head in my fiction, I dump the series, no matter how many books I’ve already read.

    I think that may be it. (BTW…the Fox and O’Hare series? While the plots are far-fetched in the extreme, I really like Nick Fox, and I’m not ready to quit yet. If it drags out forever like Stephanie Plum, though…that could be a different story. Yeah, they’re fluff, but since I can read one of these books in about two hours, I don’t feel like I’ve wasted a lot of time on the fluffiness. 🙂

    • I like a cotton-candy book every now and then, too. Evanovich is good at them. Nothing wrong with a little light-as-air sweetness. 🙂

      But if we all liked the same books, the world would be boring, wouldn’t it?

  2. siderealday says:

    I have trouble quitting series, too, unless I DNF the first book.

What are your thoughts?

