Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

October 13: Top Ten Author Duos You’d LOVE To See Write A Book Together

I’ll be honest, any of my favorite authors working together would make me extremely happy. But these pairs would be amazing.

magic bitesmoon

1.Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs. Their world building and character development would work nicely together, I think.

bittenurban shaman

2. Kelley Armstrong and C.E. Murphy. Two awesome authors with lovely urban fantasy worlds.

emperor edgecity and city2

3. Lindsay Buroker and China Mieville. Some thoughtful puzzles in these books–what they could they do together?

Storm Frontsomething from nightside

4. Jim Butcher and Simon R. Green. Smart-@ss, dark heroes.

ready notterrier

5. Meg Cabot and Tamora Pierce. Girl power, strong heroines, and a sense of humor.

american godsgrimspace

6. Neil Gaiman and Ann Aguirre. They both create epic worlds, with a hint of magic.

curse the darkMagic_without_Mercy.indd

7. Laura Anne Gilman and Devon Monk. A little dark, a little dangerous.

grave sightglory in death

8. Charlaine Harris and J.D. Robb. Very mysterious mysteries.

summon keeperoathbound

9. Tanya Huff and Mercedes Lackey. I really admire their characters and magic systems.

rosemary and ruebarrayar

10. Seanan McGuire and Lois McMaster Bujold. They have a sort of similar balance of dark and light, and sort of crazy determined characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Wow, some great pairing ideas here, Caitlin. There are two where I’m not familiar with either author, but the rest, I’ve read one or both. Gonna have to check out Bujold, Gilman, and Mieville, though. (Just to see if you got it right, haha.) Cool post. I especially like the idea of Jim Butcher and Simon R. Green. What a world those two could create! (OMG, I finished Aeronaut’s Windlass last night, and I loved every single page of it. This is going to be a great series! And I want a cat like Rowl! A cat like Rowl could rule the world.)

    • Butcher and Green are pretty similar, right? 🙂
      Though honestly, I’ve seen parings–like Pratchett and Gaiman–work wonderfully even if their writing isn’t very similar.

  2. I haven’t read any of Ann Aguirre’s stuff, but I from what I’ve read about her books, her and Neil Gaiman would be an awesome duo! My TTT!

What are your thoughts?

