Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

October 20: 10 Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant Me (a new book from a certain author,  a reading superpower, a library that is yours absolutely #librarygoals, a character to come to life, to meet a certain author etc. etc.) YOU DREAM IT AND THE BOOKISH GENIE CAN DO IT.

library ladder

1. Built-ins and a ladder. I think a lot of bookworms wish they had a dedicated library room, with four walls of floor-to-ceiling built-in shelves, and one of those rolling ladders. But I still covet one. As a bonus, it would be two stories, with a spiral staircase connecting them.

hellspark

2. Hellspark sequel. Janet Kagan only wrote a few novels before she died. I wish there were more.

Blank_book_on_a_table

3. Magic book. E-books are nice, but if you could make a blank book any book you wanted, wouldn’t that be amazing? Just write the title and author on the cover, then let the magic happen.

rosemary and rue

4. Meet Seanan McGuire. There aren’t quite words for how much I adore her Toby Daye books, and I quite like her other works as well.

embassytown

5. Meet China Mieville. These books make my brain hurt–in a good way. Such complex ideas are fun to read, ponder, and discuss.

valor choice'

6. Meet Tanya Huff. I’ve been reading her books forever it seems, and she makes my top ten author list. I would travel a few hours to go to a signing or reading by her–but I don’t think she tours.

mus of kerbridge

7. Mus of Kerbridge sequel. This was one of my favorite childhood books, and I would love a sequel.

Pause_icon_status

8. Pause Button. If I could just stop time, for a few minutes or a few hours, to finish a chapter or book now and again, that’d be wonderful.

Phule Money

9. Re-do Phule’s Company end. I loved 1-4, but 5 and 6 did not speak to me at all. I wish instead, there’d been a different book 5 to wrap up the series, and left at that.

DeLorean_Time_Machine

10. Time Travel Observation Machine. I wouldn’t want to go back in time and meet my favorite authors, because–paradox! But I would absolutely creep on them during readings, lectures, or conversations.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Nicholson Baker had the same idea as your number 8 … although in Fermata, he uses his pause button for other purposes!

  2. Anne says:

    I love your idea about magic books, because even though ebooks are convenient, there’s nothing like holding a physical copy!

What are your thoughts?

