Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

Top Ten Tues halloween

October 27: Halloween themed freebie — your choice (ie. 10 best ghost stories, 10 things that scare you in books, 10 literary Halloween costumes, 10 vampire novels, 10 books that WILL scare you, 10 non-scary books for Halloween, 10 scariest covers, etc.)

Let’s see . . . I like 10 not-too-scary books for Halloween.

zombies vs unicorns

1. Zombies vs. Unicorns; Holly Black. What’s more in the spirit than zombies?

world war z

2. World War Z; Max Brooks. A thoughtful collection of interviews on the price to win a war.

house

3. House of Leaves; Mark Danielewski. A house of horrors, of a psychological sort.

graveyard book

4. The Graveyard Book; Neil Gaiman. It takes place in a graveyard, but the dead are pretty lively ghosts!

we have always lived

5. We Have Always Lived in the Castle; Shirley Jackson. A dark house, and siblings who survived the darkness.

odd thomas

6. Odd Thomas; Dead Koontz. He speaks to the dead, and solves their mysteries.

boneshaker

7. Boneshaker; Cherie Priest. Zombies have overtaken the world, but people are coping more or less.

miss peregrin

8. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children; Ransom Riggs. Some spooky photos, and haunting settings.

Picture Dorian Gray

9 The Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde. A classic story with a scary painting.

replacement

10. The Replacement; Brenna Yovanoff. A dark story of changelings.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    Love your list! House of Leaves made my list this week too 🙂 https://dreamingthroughliterature.wordpress.com/2015/10/27/top-ten-tuesday-halloween-freebie/

  2. Marcia says:

    As always a great list. I’ve read several (The Picture of Dorian Gray, I read forty or more years ago. Love it then. Might be worth another look; Zombies vs Unicorns, though I’m on Team Unicorn!; The Graveyard Book, which was wonderful; the entire Odd Thomas series, which will go down as one of my all-time favorites; Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Chidren…just wonderfully weird and creepy; and The Replacement…the cover says it all!)

    And as always, you give me something new to consider. We Have Always Lived in the Castle has been on my list…well…forever! Boneshaker has a nice steampunky look to it. Maybe it’s zombies I can enjoy. (Normally, there are just entirely too many stray body parts for my personal reading pleasure. 😀 ) I’ve already made a note to check out House of Leaves, but I’m thinking I’ll pass on World War Z. Eeeww. I do believe The Forest of Hands and Teeth series might be the ONLY zombie books I’ve ever been able to get into. Great post, Caitlin. Sorry it took me all day to get to it.

What are your thoughts?

