~~~****~~Good luck to all the NaNoWriMos! Write on!~~***~~~~

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

November 10: Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To or Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch.

golden compass

1. The Golden Compass. I vaguely recall the books, and the movie didn’t have great ratings, but I admit to being curious.

harry potter prisoner

2. Harry Potter. I missed one of the Harry Potter movies in there, maybe two. I’m not too sure which, so that only leaves a marathon to sort that out.

hugo cabret

3. Hugo. It took me a while to get to the book, but it was very visual, and I could see it making a good movie.

jurassic world

4. Jurassic World. So the first movie was more mayhem than sense, but sometimes that’s a good thing.

martian

5. The Martian. I loved this book so much. I must see the movie.

me and earl

6. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I read the book, and it was funny enough.

perks of wallflower

7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This book is a little sad, but good. And it should have translated well, I think.

pride zombies

8. Pride, Prejudice and Zombies. I didn’t really like this book, but the movie looks like it might be better.

frankenstein

9. Victor Frankenstein. Other adaptations weren’t so good. Maybe this one will be.

walk in the wood

10. A Walk in the Woods. Something I’d never do myself, but watching a lot of exercise is okay.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. The Martian was a great movie. And I think it might still be in theatres — go see it!

  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower translated SO well to the screen. It’s probably my favorite book to movie adaptation ever. It definitely didn’t hurt that the author also wrote and directed the film. 🙂

  3. Ed Hoornaert says:

    The Golden Compass movie was okay, I thought, just not as good as the book.

    I saw The Martian recently. The technology was great; the human side of the story, non-existent. They could’ve cast a robot…though that’s not a knock on Matt Damon, because he really tried, but on the script. It didn’t even attempt any insight into what a man marooned so far away might feel. Hard science fiction taken to its ultimate extreme.

    I have no interest in seeing A Walk in the Woods because the book was so horrible. Sorry, BB–I’ve enjoyed everything else you’ve written.

    • That’s too bad about The Martian, though I still have to see it for myself, you know? Inquiring minds.
      I haven’t read A Walk… yet, but I plan to. Still, sometimes a movie tells a story better than a book. Different mediums, and all. Might be worth it!

  4. foxyblogs1 says:

    I still need to watch The Martian! 🙂
    My TTT- http://wp.me/p4uAPW-22B

  5. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    I hope you like The Perks of Being a Wallflower when you finally get around to it! It thought they did a spectacular job of adapting the book to film.

What are your thoughts?

