~~~****~~Good luck to all the NaNoWriMos! Write on!~~***~~~~

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

November 17: Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So.

welcome to night vale

1. Welcome to Night Vale; Jeffrey Cranor & Joseph Fink. “…the problem with fair questions is that they are asked about an unfair world.”

never weird on the internet

2. You’re Never Weird on the Internet; Felicia Day. “…don’t chase perfection for perfection’s sake, or for anyone else’s sake at all. If you strive for something, make sure it’s for the right reasons. And if you fail, that will be a better lesson for you than any success you’ll ever have. Because you learn a lot from screwing up. Being perfect . . . not so much.”

fragile things

3. Fragile Things & Short Fictions; Neil Gaiman. “Hearts may break, but hearts are the toughest of muscles, able to pump for a lifetime, seventy times a minute, and scarcely falter along the way. Even dreams, the most delicate and intangible of things, can prove remarkably difficult to kill.”

ancillary mercy

4. Ancillary Mercy; Ann Leckie. “Everything ending is from another angle, not really an ending.”

red rose chain

5. A Red-Rose Chain; Seanan McGuire. “Change sucks. No one’s going to argue about that. Change is hard and painful and sometimes we wind up losing things we wanted to keep forever.”

dumplin

6. Dumplin‘; Julie Murphy. “I guess sometimes the perfection we perceive in others is made up of a whole bunch of tiny imperfections, because some days the damn dress just won’t zip.”

shepherds crown

7. The Shepherd’s Crown; Terry Pratchett. “…YOU HAVE LEFT THE WORLD MUCH BETTER THAN YOU FOUND IT, AND IF YOU ASK ME, said Death, NOBODY COULD DO ANY BETTER THAN THAT. . .”

carry on

8. Carry On; Rainbow Rowell. “You have to pretend you get an endgame. You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can’t carry on at all.”

emperors soul

9. The Emperor’s  Soul; Brandon Sanderson. “You can’t always write what you know—not exactly what you know. You can, however, write what you see.”

seveneves

10. Seveneves; Neal Stephenson. “Fighting isn’t about knowing how. It’s about deciding to.”

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    Love the quotes! I haven’t read any of these, but a few are on my TBR 🙂
    https://dreamingthroughliterature.wordpress.com/2015/11/17/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-quotes-from-books-i-read-in-the-past-year/

    • There’s always more books than time, right? Is there one you plan to tackle soon?

      • dreamingthroughliterature says:

        Haha always! Everyone seems to be talking about Welcome to Night Vale and Dumplin’, so I feel like I need to get around to those haha. I also want to read the Felicia Day book. I just don’t want to spend money on them, so I keep hoping to come across them at the library, which usually requires a brilliant stroke of luck.

        • Does your library not have a hold list? That’s how I get my hands on pretty much everything.

          Those three are all funny books, thougg in different ways. Happy reading!

          • dreamingthroughliterature says:

            It does, I’m just so erratic about the times I go to the Library; I rarely plan ahead. I keep meaning to take advantage of it, but I always just end up going and seeing what I kind find. Thanks!

What are your thoughts?

