~~~****~~Good luck to all the NaNoWriMos! We’re almost there! Write on!~~***~~~~

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

November 24: Thanksgiving themed Freebie — ten books I’m thankful for, authors I’m thankful for, Ten fictional families I’d like to celebrate Thanksgiving with, a personal non-bookish thankful list, etc. etc.

I’m going to do bookish things I’m thankful for.

1. Book Clubs. I found one nearby, and have gone twice so far, and am really enjoying myself. I do love talking about books.

From Out of Print.

From Out of Print.

2. Book Totes. Good for carrying books, and being stylish while doing it.

word press logo

3. Book Bloggers. Y’all are my people.

4. Detailed book reviews. Not just plot summary, but how it made then feel, where the story succeeds, and where it falls short. Bonus thank-points for mentioning annoying cliches or warnings of sudden turn for the better/worse.

Decatur Book

5. Free books. Book gifts, book giveaways, ARCs, however you can legally get a free book, I’m all for it.

goodreads

6. Goodreads. I use this site for so much. Reviews, book buddies, recommendations, tracking books read and to-read…

IMG_4692

7. Little Free Libraries. Small, lovely, and it’s fun to see what collection each area holds.

Image from WikiMedia by FSII.

Image from WikiMedia by FSII.

8. Old books. They’re little time machines. I need to read more of them!

SAPL central

9. Public Libraries. Nothing like free books! I love picking up holds, checking out a big stack of books, or browsing the new book shelves.

equal rites

10. Sir Terry Pratchett. His books are incredibly re-readable, and never fail to make me laugh and think.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Great List, Caitlin! I agree with every one of your items, except #4. I purely hate reviews that give away too much. I want to know what the book was about and was it well written. If there are MAJOR flaws in editing or writing, I’d like to be warned. I tend to skip those. Did the reviewer like it or not, and how much/how man stars? After that, I want to find everything else out for myself. I could probably get by on topic and star rating.

    When I DO like details is AFTER I’ve read the book. 🙂 I want to see if it had the same impact on others as it did on me, and why or why not.

    I’m perverse, that way. 😀

    Still haven’t found a local book club. I’m thinking of STARTING a local writers’ group, though, if I can drum up some interest. Talking books is great. (Just not before I’ve read them. 😀 )

    • I don’t mean a lot of details, really, even if it’s more than you like. Just general things–like I hate to read a book and discover the author seems to hate women, torturing the characters, or making them all flat stereotypes.
      Start one! Book clubs are great fun, when they’re good.

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    At the park at the other end of our street, there’s a teensy tiny community library–two shelves each about two feet long, in a box attached to a pole. It’s more like a free book exchange, actually. People take books and leave books. It’s great!

  3. foxyblogs1 says:

    Great list of things to be thankful!!! 🙂

  4. That book tote is adorable! Unfortunately I have about twenty totes already, or I would definitely pick one up.

  5. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    This is a great list of wonderful bookish things to be thankful for 🙂

What are your thoughts?

