~~~****~~Almost done, NaNoWriMos! May your writing be swift and your goal met!~~****~~~

This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is from a WIP, with the placeholder name of “Bluebeard,” very loosely based on that fairy tale. Every year on the Winter Solstice, a sorcerer takes a sixteen-year-old girl as his bride, divorcing her and exiling her before he takes a new bride the next year.

Summary: The sorcerer Aamir “Mire” has married the narrator, Gwyn, spelled them into his tower, and she’s not adjusting so well to being cooped up, they sparred with wooden swords, and she got a lucky shot–she’s currently trying to see the damage.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

His wolf-green eyes met mine, and I was suddenly aware of how close we were to each other.

I blushed, but refused to look away. “Please let me help.”

“I don’t need it.” He released me, and pushed to his feet, wincing as he did so. I stayed on the floor, watching as he walked out the door.

“That could have gone better.” Picking up both swords, I returned them to their places. Worried I might run into the sorcerer if I went exploring again, I curled up on the floor where I could peer out the window, and studied the bit of sky I could see.

*    *    *

This story is very loosely based on Bluebeard. The sorcerer is cursed, and the brides are caught up in the curse, though the nearby villagers don’t know how or why. He keeps the kingdom safe with his magic, and his brides tie him to a land he couldn’t otherwise protect. There are other ways to do this tying–but his curse demands a bride.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

31 responses »

  1. He’s gone to lick his wounds and think. She is one smart cookie. Love this story, so original.

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    I keep forgetting she is only sixteen. My guess is that he hasn’t. Nice ebb and flow of tension Caitlin. Really enjoying these snippets.

  3. Uh-oh, sounds like she got him good. Possibly in more than one way. Loving this story so much.

  4. Amalie says:

    How like an older man to go off to lick his wounds alone. LOL. I am very interested to see how their relationship plays out.

  5. Alexis Duran says:

    I think he’s finally getting the idea she’s not the typical disposable bride. Very nice image of her looking at the sky.

  6. I really resonate with your heroine and how calm and collected she is. Another excellent excerpt!

  7. Well yes, that certainly could have gone better..and now that his pride has been hurt, I wonder what will come of it next time he shows up!! Really loving their interactions.

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    My grandmother was married at 15. My mom at 19. I was married at 23. My girls are 28 and 24 and still single. How times have changed. lol Loved the sparring. She definitely isn’t what he expected.

  9. Evelyn Jules says:

    I’m definitely starting to see the romance develop here. Wonderful work, as always. I’m loving this story! 🙂

  10. I believe he just might decide to keep this bride.

  11. Cara Bristol says:

    I think they have an interesting relationship. She’s holding her own, that’s for sure.

  12. I’m on Team Gwyn -you go girl!

  13. chellecordero says:

    It seems to me that he is afraid of losing some kind of control if he lets her get too close. Very interesting story and I am enjoying the ride.

  14. I’m so enticed with this scene. Can’t wait to read the new snippet. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

