This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is from a WIP, with the placeholder name of “Bluebeard,” very loosely based on that fairy tale. Every year on the Winter Solstice, a sorcerer takes a sixteen-year-old girl as his bride, divorcing her and exiling her before he takes a new bride the next year.

Summary: The sorcerer Aamir “Mire” has married the narrator, Gwyn, spelled them into his tower, and she’s not adjusting so well to being cooped up–wandering around and asking questions.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“You said you can’t choose, ” I said, “but whatever chose me…”
“My curse chose you.”
“It made a mistake. I’m hardly ever inside for so long, and I feel trapped.”
“We both are.” He stared at me, measuring, then led me back to the room where we’d sparred. “I’ll show you exercises you can do inside. Any time you feel like stabbing me in the stomach–”
“I didn’t mean it!”
He spoke over me, louder, “–you can come here, and do these exercises until the feeling fades.”
*    *    *

This story is very loosely based on Bluebeard. The sorcerer is cursed, and the brides are caught up in the curse, though the nearby villagers don’t know how or why. He keeps the kingdom safe with his magic, and his brides tie him to a land he couldn’t otherwise protect. There are other ways to do this tying–but his curse demands a bride.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

26 responses »

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I reckon she’ll be spending a lot of time in that room, with the attitude the sorcerer has displayed thus far!

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    Oh dear! I didn’t realise she was stuck in the tower so completely! She will most certainly get cabin fever. Can’t wait to see how long it takes!

  3. Aw, he’s giving her an outlet for her cabin fever, even if he gets battered in the process. And that his curse chose her … interesting!

  4. Excercise? No way will that settle her restlessness. She needs romance, buster. Until he realizes this basic need, they are both doomed.

  5. Alexis Duran says:

    Yeah, I’m with Charmaine. No substitutes will suffice.

  6. These two are terrific together, really enjoying the story. I’m with her though, too much time cooped up inside is a problem!

    • Oh, yeah, a year would drive me crazy. I could probably handle a few days of little time outside, and then two days of no time outside, though–which is where she’s at right now. She’s going to be special in a couple of months.

  7. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I really love your dialogue. Not only does it sound natural, it does a great job of characterizing them. I especially like the line ‘My curse chose you.’ At this point in their relationship, I figure that about encapsulates his attitude toward her.

    • Thanks!
      He’s feeling a bit grumpy about how poorly she’s adjusting–or more like, the way she’s adjusting poorly. He can handle brides weeping quietly in their rooms, but she’s thumping around and disturbing him instead.

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    Love their interaction with each other. I have to agree with her. No can stand being cooped up all day. Enjoyed the snippet.

  9. chellecordero says:

    I am really taken by this story, I imagine that he is taken with her too… but he doesn’t want to be taken with her since he has to give her up in a year. I think they will both need “exercise” before the year is out.

  10. I can’t help but feel sorry for him too.

  11. jessicahanna says:

    I love the back and forth between these two. I am new to your story, but over the past few weeks it has really pulled me in!

  12. Amalie says:

    It sounds to me like he’s very practiced at giving this speech, which makes me very sad for him. And for her, obviously. But I tend to be the one that enjoys looking from the other perspective, even when it’s obvious I’m not supposed to. I also love how she is so caught up in what she almost did to him. Very cute. 🙂

    • I don’t know how anyone could avoid feeling a little sorry for the Mire, actually. He’s a jerk, but his life is kind of terrible.
      Yeah, she feels terrible about accidentally hurting him–if she’d done it on purpose, that would be a different story. 😉

What are your thoughts?

