Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

December 8: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015.

In most of these cases, that means I only have one book by them under my belt, but I’d read another… as soon as they publish it/ I have time.

karen memory

1. Elizabeth Bear. I read and loved Karen Memory, and I’d love to see some more of Bear’s characters.

house shattered wings

2. Aliette de Bodard. The House of Shattered Wings was an experience–angels in a whole different light. What else could that mind dream up?

book of harold

3. Owen Egerton. I bought two of his books at an event, and finally got around to reading them this year. A great example of dark humor.

dont fail me now

4. Una LaMarche. Don’t Fail Me Now is one of those books that flips a switch between sad and funny, and the characters felt real. I admire that skill.

gracekeepers

5. Kristy Logan. The Gracekeepers was haunting and lovely. Sometimes you just want to read a sad book.

dumplin

6. Julie Murphy. Dumplin‘ had real problems without harping on them overly, and I wanted her story to never end. Murphy won me over with her humor.

wild children

7. Richard Roberts. Wild Children was strange, but wonderful, and made me curious about other books by the author.

lumberjanes

8. & 9. Noelle Stevenson & Grace Ellis. I read the first few books of Lumberjanes, and it was so much better than my Girl Scout experience. I’d like to see more from either of them, in whatever form they create in.

trouble friend of mine

10. Stephanie Tromley. Trouble is a Friend of Mine is a cute YA, but with enough substance to keep it from being cotton candy. Not that I mind some cotton candy reading, but I enjoy something a little healthier now and then.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

7 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    All new to me, Caitlin. Thanks for the comments. I can see there are several I need to add to my list. My ever-growing, impossible to manage LIST. I’ll have to up my life span by another ten years to get through it all. (And I’m already planning on making it to 123, at least.) 😀

  2. Marcia says:

    Reblogged this on Bookin' It and commented:
    Some good suggestions, here! Check ’em out.

  3. Totally love seeing Kirsty Logan on your list!!

  4. tiareleine says:

    I read Don’t Fail Me Now this year as well! But I didn’t include it on my list because I’ve read her two other YA books, Five Summers and Like No Other, in previous years. They’re both good, but I think Don’t Fail Me Now is her strongest/best.

What are your thoughts?

