Have you ever forgotten a book? Picked up something new, sat down to read it, and then been struck with a sense of deja vu? And then as you read a little further, (or check any reading lists you keep) you realize you’ve read it before.

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

You can keep reading if you want, or you can put the book back and read something else. I’m all for re-reads. I enjoy them, but I do usually intend them–revisiting an old favorite, or just something seasonal. Not an accidental repeat.

Most times, I put that book aside. There’s so many books, after all!

When this happens to you, what do you do?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I honestly don’t think I’ve ever done this. I mean, I’ve forgotten titles, and couldn’t remember if I’d read the book or not, but a quick look at the synopsis usually refreshes my mind. It happens to me with long series, when I’ve been waiting for the next book, and especially on Kindle, where I don’t have the cover in front of my face. I have to be sure I’m not downloading the last one I DID read. But so far, knock wood, I haven’t bought any duplicates.

    Yeah, I’d rather re-read books I WANT to re-read. Like, I’m planning to read the entire Dresden Files series again, one day. Also Odd Thomas. And there are stand alones I’ve read often…I have to read Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca every couple of years. It’s always been my favorite book. Things like that. But lately, I’m more interested in covering as much ground as possible, and I have such an overflowing TBR pile, I feel guilty re-reading things. A bit. (Okay, not too much, though I should.)

    • I don’t think I’ve *bought* a duplicate. I have checked a few out from the library, though. 😉

      • Marcia says:

        Well, that’s good, then. It would really be frustrating to buy duplicates . . . unintentionally, that is. I have a LOT of books on my shelves that I bought again for my Kindle, for more comfortable reading, or vice versa. I read them on my Kindle, and decided I wanted a hard copy for my shelves. (We are NEVER telling my husband this!! He would NOT approve. 😀 )

  2. bornandread says:

    I have terrible book amnesia – not usually to the point that I forget that I have read a book, but there are a LOT of books that I have read that I can’t remember a thing about. It’s the main reason I started logging my books and writing a short review of everything I read – when the amnesia gets me, I can go back to the log and refresh my memory!

What are your thoughts?

