Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

January 5: Top Ten Resolutions For 2016 (can be bookish, personal resolutions, “I resolve to finally read these 10 books, series I resolve to finish in 2016, etc.)

Mine pretty much boil down to ‘create more and read more!’ but I’ve broken that up into some more concrete goals.

book riot

1. Book Riot Read Harder Challenge. I will complete this challenge!

tbr start 2016

2. Control TBR shelf. Whether it’s library books, e-books, or physical books, dedicated readers’ hopes are larger than our free time. However, my physical TBR pile has grown, despite finishing two books and starting two more off the pile since the new year. My goal is to get it down to, and keep it to one stack that fits in its place on my shelves.

coloring books

3. Color! I have three lovely coloring books, and some new markers. And yet, I have only completed half a picture!

create books

4. Explore/wreck more. I bought one of these books, and was gifted another–both more than a year ago. I’m going to randomly choose one, flip through it, and get started.

5. Cut Facebookery. (Time wasting on the internet.) I like checking in on my friend’s lives, cute cat pictures, or games, but it’s easy to lose a lot of time that way. I’ve discovered if I’m mindful, I can close the window or put away the phone. More time to read, write, or socialize!

lud in the mist

6. Read older books. Most of my recently read books were published after 2000, so I’m aiming for more books from the 1970s or earlier.

7. Winnow web comics. I’ve accumulated far too many, and I already cut quite a few by reading only my favorites for a few weeks, and then cutting the ones I didn’t miss. My goal going forward is to read the infrequent updaters at the beginning of each month, and perhaps cull a couple more out.

SAMSUNG

8. Write every day. I keep meaning to write, and then days or weeks slip by without a single word written. I will try to write every day, whether it’s a piece of short story, novel, or poem.

faces in the crowd

9. Read more diversely. This year, I’m going to try to read more books from people outside the U.S.A or U.K., and more books that were translated from another language.

10. Forgive myself. An important part of any resolution, I think, is to forgive yourself for missing a day/goal/etc. And to pick it up again, no matter how often you fail. To that end, I don’t intend to track my resolutions–just do them!

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. I think you have good goals, especially on the older books. SOO many good old books out there!

  2. One of my goals was to let go of the guilt. A bit like your Forgive Yourself, I need to remember that my blog is my hobby, therefore fun!

  3. @lynnsbooks says:

    I like your forgive yourself resolution – this is one I definitely need on my list because I’m so terrible at keeping these things!
    Lynn 😀

What are your thoughts?

