I’m doing the 2016 Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, and you should, too! (Click the link to see the challenge, and to download a PDF of the challenge list.)

To quote the article: “We encourage you to push yourself, to take advantage of this challenge as a way to explore topics or formats or genres that you otherwise wouldn’t try. But this isn’t a test. No one is keeping score and there are no points to post. We like books because they allow us to see the world from a new perspective, and sometimes we all need help to even know which perspectives to try out. That’s what this is – a perspective shift – but one for which you’ll only be accountable to yourself.”

Embracing the spirit of the challenge in my usual fashion, I’ve decided:

1.) I’ll read 24 books, without doubling up titles.

2.) I won’t use any books already on my shelves, holds, or wait lists.

These will all be new books, books I might not otherwise have read. Now we’ll see if I can stick to my determination!

haunting hill housewritten stars

I’ve already chosen my first books. Shirley Jackson will probably traumatize me…

Do you have any reading challenges planned for 2016?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

