Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

January 12: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t.

This year, for sure! (Probably.)

none of the above

1. None of the Above; I.W. Gregorio. I spotted this on a blog, and it seemed interesting. The world isn’t so binary as it might seem.

good bad smug

2. The Good, the Bad, the Smug; Tom Holt. Holt does these strange, rambling adventures, with hapless main characters and weird science.

fifth season

3. The Fifth Season; N.K. Jemisin. A war fighting for basic resources, and one woman determined to save her daughter–it sounds like it could be rough, but the reviews are really good.

illuminae

4. Illuminae; Amie Kaufman. I basically saw this one on so many blogs I gave in. War, plague, rogue A.I.s, romance gone bad–it should be an adventure.

air awakens

5. Air Awakens; Elise Kova. Another pretty cover, but what really sold me were the words “library apprentice.” Bookish people make great heroes.

unbeatable squirrel

6. The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl; Ryan North & Erica Henderson. How could you resist this premise? Squirrel powered superhero!

written stars

7. Written in the Stars; Aisha Saeed. Isn’t it pretty?

shattered court

8. The Shattered Court; M.J. Scott. I enjoyed her other series, and this one looks to have magic aplenty.

long walk to valhalla

9. Long Walk to Valhalla; Adam Scott. Mostly it’s the title, but the concept–a Valkyrie walking someone about to die through their life–caught my attention, too.

futuristic violence

10. Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits; David Wong. I’ve read John Dies at the End and This Book is Full of Spiders, and enjoyed both, so I’m willing to take a chance on this one. Superhuman villains versus a woman with a cat. Sounds fun, right?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. NONE OF THE ABOVE. YES. And Illuminae! Also, I don’t have it on my list, but I really want to read Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits as well. I loved David Wong’s other books. My TTT!

  2. We share one! Good, Bad, and Smug (if its the one I”m thinking of, which it looks like it is..) really isn’t worth picking up. My TTT.

  3. I really want to read None of the Above, too! Great list 🙂

  4. Sebastian says:

    ILLUMINAE seems to be today’s most mentioned book, I’ve seen it on so many lists already! 😀

    But you can definitely look forward to it, it was one of my top 3 books in 2015 and I can’t wait to read the next book in this series! 🙂

  5. Cassie-la says:

    Oooh, a new David Wong book. =) Also, Air Awakens sounds intriguing, I’ll have to look into it more!

What are your thoughts?

