Here’s a link to an article about Lon-Bin Chen’s work.

I always feel a little mixed about making art out of books, but this spectacular. And after all, there’s plenty of books that really won’t find a reader–either once, or again. They may as well become something else, right?

Book Garden

These particular sculptures are quite special. As the description says, they appear a little like stone–the white edges of the pages, some carved in waves, others smoothed into curves. And there’s a sense of size–and heft, I’m sure–to each piece. In a few cases (like in the picture) you can see the edges of the covers, in others there were only the pages visible.

I especially liked the lizards, of which I didn’t find a picture. (But if you do a search you’ll find all kinds of pictures.) One especially interesting element was the use of the book spines–one sculpture had many titles featuring plum blossoms, for example. The artist seems to get around a bunch, so you might have a book garden near you sometime soon!

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

