Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

January 19: Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR.

(The books I’ve most recently added to my Goodreads To-Read list. Links to Goodreads.)

giant days

1. Giant Days; John Allison. There was a snippet of this at the end of Lumberjanes Vol. 2, and it sold me with just a few pages.

city of the lost

2. The City of the Lost; Kelley Armstrong. Some of Armstrong’s books are more of a hit for me than others… but she ranks high enough that I’ll try anything she writes, pretty much.

proposal

3. Proposal; Meg Cabot. Cabot’s books took up a good chunk of my teens, so I have to read this addendum to her mediator series.

shogun

4. Shogun; James Clavell. My Book Riot pick for 500 pages or more.

staked

5. Staked; Kevin Hearne. More druids and their hilarious dogs, please!

this census taker

6. This Census-Taker; China Miéville. His writing makes me think. Have to exercise that brain!

a monster calls

7. A Monster Calls; Patrick Ness. This will be my Book Riot pick for book made into a movie… or I’ll pick my other option for the list and read this anyway!

all the bright places

8. All the Bright Places; Jennifer Niven. My Book Riot pick for main character with mental illness.

spirals in time

9. Spirals in Time; Helen Scales. Found this on a blog, and fondly remember picking up seashells while visiting my grandparents, so I thought I’d give it a read.

finest hours

10. The Finest Hours; Michael Tougias. I saw the preview for this movie, and it seemed action-packed. So this may be my Book Riot pick for book made into a movie.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    As usual, making notes of your selections. I’ve never read any of these, though I’ve read a lot of Kelley Armstrong. Interesting selections, all. I’m still trying to read the first Druid book. I get about three chapters in, realize I’m bored, and stop. But this series is so popular, I feel like I’m missing something, and I plan to try it again, and stick it out until the end. I really WANT to like it. Your recommendation has convinced me it’s time to try again. 😀

    Great post, as always.

  2. imyril says:

    Ooh, Shogun is an old favourite of mine – I hope you enjoy it as much as I did (I haven’t revisited it in at least a decade, so I’d be sad to hear the suck fairy has been to visit) .

  3. Ayunda says:

    I’ve been dying to read A Monster Calls, but I feel like I need to save it for a special occasion! Great list 🙂

  4. mki52 says:

    All the Bright Places sounds like it’d be an interesting read, I’ve been seeing this book everywhere. I’ll have to add that to my list!

What are your thoughts?

