Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

February 2: Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books — basically this week is all about the past or the future….spin it however you choose.

The past is often full of dubious medicine, high death rates, and questionable hygiene, so I’ll go with Top Futuristic Settings I Love.

grimspace

1. Sirantha Jax series; Ann Aguirre. Grimspace doesn’t seem much fun, but the option for space travel to all those the worlds it allows does.

barrayar

2. Vorkosigan series; Lois McMaster Bujold. The colonies, the space stations, the vicious plant life on Barrayar!

valor choice'

3. Confederation series; Tanya Huff. All the alien species seem interesting–except maybe the giant spider-like ones.

hellspark

4. Hellspark; Janet Kagan. It’s mostly the scattered human colonies who are attention-grabbing in this world.

ancillary mercy

5. Imperial Radch series; Anne Leckie. I probably wouldn’t want to visit, but this world-building is still fascinating.

freedom landing

6. Catteni series; Anne McCaffrey. Minus the alien overlords, slavery, and forced colonization, this is a fascinating collection of worlds, alien races, and technology.

long

7. Long Earth series; Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter. Stepping to another version of the planet would be fun, if dangerous.

glory in death

8. In Death series; J.D. Robb. On the one hand, the crime is terrible. On the other, they have colorful, cheap, and temporary tattoos, flying cars, and food options for the cooking challenged.

diamond age

9. The Diamond Age; Neal Stephenson. Where else could you visit so many places that model their community after a place and/or time. It’s like a theme park, almost.

beautiful friendship

10. Stephanie Harrington series; David Weber. Us poor Terrans would need a gravity belt for Sphinx, but it has treecats!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

16 responses »

  1. Sorry, but my favorite part of this whole post was: “The past is often full of dubious medicine, high death rates, and questionable hygiene, so I’ll go with Top Futuristic Settings I Love.” – that made me cackle. So true.

  2. Marcia says:

    Well, you’ve gone and done it this time, Caitlin. Listed ten books I’ve never even HEARD of, much less read. Oh, wait. I’ve heard of the Pratchett series. Just haven’t read it. Are you deliberately trying to make my TBR pile even more towering? It already threatens to collapse on me, Mark, and all six animals.

    And just as an aside, I’d go back . . . or forward? . . . or sideways? . . . to the alternate realms of various fantasy worlds I’ve read about in the last year or so. The Six Duchies of Robin Hobb’s Farseer series, for instance, with dragons and The Skill and The Wit and kingdoms to preserve or conquer. Or to the world of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series, for another. I like the idea of being a Coinshot, perhaps.

    I’m so happy to leave behind the bombardment of this world’s daily news, even outer space isn’t far enough away. So I’d go to places that never existed, and never could. Alternate universes. If I had time today, I’d do a post on it, myself, but instead, I’ll thank you for yours. 😀 Great job, as always.

  3. Mari says:

    I have found the futuristic In Death world fascinating. Though…I’m not sure I could stand to live there without real coffee. Maybe if I live the Roark lifestyle I’ll be fine, lol.

    • I’m not sure I could stand the food, either–everything’s made out of tofu!

      If you had the option to live in a fictional world, being fabulously wealthy is always a good idea.

  4. tiareleine says:

    I haven’t heard of a single one of these books, but they all sound really interesting! Especially that last one. I don’t know what a Treecat is, but it sounds cool.

  5. I love that you included the In Death series! I love that series. 🙂

  6. @lynnsbooks says:

    I think I have two Lois McMaster Bujold books and yet still I haven’t read any! It’s ridiculous, where does all the time go!
    Lynn 😀

  7. Oooh! I read a ton of Anne McCaffrey’s fantasy in high school and loved them, but I never even realized she did science fiction. Great list!

  8. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’ve read the first two of these, as well as the Diamond Age. My TTT.

What are your thoughts?

