Are you a saver or a binger? Do you save a book, waiting for the right time to read it, or do you plunge right in, reading through to the end of a book or series?

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

Image from WikiMedia by MarkBuckawicki

Usually, I’m a binger. I read all in one sitting the latest October Daye, the latest Mercy Thompson, and plenty of others. Lots of times I pre-order an e-book and start reading it when it hits my Kindle, staying up late to read a little… or sometimes a lot.

But when I had in my possession the last ever Discworld book, pre-ordered so I could read it as soon as possible, it took me weeks to read. I kept picking it up and putting it down without starting. I had pre-ordered the other books in the series for years–buying and reading them all in one day.

The same thing happened with the last Cinder book, Winter. I bought it and stared at it for a while.

It might be because those are the last books in a series, but I think it’s just that some books are an adventure you don’t want to be over… Even if you re-read books, which I do, it’s never the same as that first read!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

