On April 6, Goodreads hit 50 million reviews–they have a cool infographic on their site about the most reviewed books, ratings, etc. And that’s a pretty impressive number, so go all of us reader and reviewers!

They also sent out an email celebrating this event. Mine contained something I thought was rather cool:

top 1 GR

Top 1%–not bad at all!

Though I don’t review anywhere near most of the books I’ve rated, (about 12% in fact) it was still enough to put me in that number. And it’s a larger number than I thought it might be–435 reviews since joining Goodreads on August 17th, 2011.

I rely on the Goodreads community for reviews, and have a habit of reading a few high-rated and low-rated reviews before I decide on a book I’m considering. So I like to give back, at least a little.

Despite my good intentions, I’m not a every-single-book reviewer, or even a most-books-reviewer, as shown by my 12%. Though I do admire the people who review most of their books!

In my case, books get reviewed if:

  • I got them in a giveaway in exchange for a review;
  • The book has very few reviews; or
  • I have something I really want to say about them.

That’s it. Sometimes I feel lazy, but when I have nothing to say, the reviews feel terrible, and there’s no sense in that.

How often do you review books? How do you decide which to review?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

4 responses »

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Caitlin, you do realize, of course, that the rest of us downtrodden souls don’t like those at the top who control everything, the 1%. 😉
    Seriously, congratulations for being recognized.

    • If only I controlled something. But all I’ve done is write enough reviews! I wonder who, and how many reviews made up this 1%, honestly. Less than 500 reviews doesn’t really seem like all that many…
      Thanks!

  2. Bookenstein says:

    Congratulations! I don’t review much on Goodreads… mostly because I just started actively trying to use it, and that beast scares me. One day, though. Maybe.

    • Honestly, I don’t review much either. My number is more due to the time I’ve been on GR than anything else.
      But I figure some books *need* a review, for the next readers, so I may as well try…

What are your thoughts?

