Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

April 19: Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh (or at least chuckle).

I rather did this before, but here’s another ten. I do love to laugh!

giant days

1. Giant Days; John Allison. A graphic novel about college misadventures, friendship, and a little revenge.

boy next door

2. Boy Next Door; Meg Cabot. A romance full of misunderstandings and an almost-murder.

bfg

3. The BFG; Roald Dahl. A dream-carrying giant makes a friend, full of laughs and funny made-up words.

nice girls dont have fangs

4. Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs; Molly Harper. A romance that’s a little silly, but sometimes that’s okay.

furiously happy

5. Furiously Happy; Jenny Lawson. Her second book is more episodic than her first, with funny and/or thoughtful stories about her life, and her determination to be happy despite what life throws at her.

helen and troys

6. Helen and Troy’s Epic Road Quest; A. Lee Martinez. Helen and Troy are sent by a god on a quest–only they really don’t want to go. Everyone is determined to stop them, because success could end the world, but failure will end their lives…

island sequined love nun

7. Island of the Sequined Love Nun; Christopher Moore. A pilot crashes his boss’ plane and ends up hiding out on an island in the grip of a strange religion.

amazing maurice

8. The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents; Terry Pratchett. One of his great stand-alones, this is the ‘true’ story of the pied piper, and nothing is as it seems.

twelfth night

9. Twelfth Night; William Shakespeare. Twins separated after a ship wreck try to make their way, full of mistaken identity, love, and some strange costumes.

Slaughterhouse Five

10. Slaughterhouse Five; Kurt Vonnegut. A master of dark humor tells a strange story of war.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

18 responses »

  1. I haven’t read any of these. I love the cover of Furiously Happy, though!

  2. tiareleine says:

    The only one of these I’ve read is Slaughterhouse Five, and now I wish I’d included it on my list this week. That was such a weird and wonderful book.

    Great list! 🙂

  3. I haven’t read any of these except The BFG… And it’s probably been 20 years since I read that 😳. I’ve heard such conflicting opinions on Furiously Happy, but I will say I laugh every time I see the cover lol

  4. aseachange says:

    I loved the Amazing Maurice and Twelfth Night – great list across a lot of different genres!

  5. amermelstein says:

    Boy Next Door and the BFG are great choices! I love your list–and I love that you included Shakespeare. Not everyone gets the humor in his plays but Twelfth Night has some hilarious moments (though my personal favorite is Much Ado About Nothing).

  6. Ed Hoornaert says:

    We share Slaughterhouse-Five. It’s been ages since I read it; I ought to do so again. My TTT.

  7. dreamingthroughliterature says:

    I love The BFG! I need to reread it though, since I haven’t visited since I was a child. I was very close to including Slaughterhouse Five on my list this week too. And, I definitely need to read Giant Days. I keep stumbling across readers who loved it!

  8. Chachic says:

    I loved reading The BFG while growing up! Sadly, I read Giant Days last month but wasn’t really a big fan of it. I saw Vol. 2 at the bookstore but hesitated in getting a copy since I found Vol. 1 just okay.

    • Are you going to see the BFG movie?
      I’m not sure I’d buy Giant Days, myself–I got it from the library. But it was a fun read for me. Everyone’s different, right? 🙂

What are your thoughts?

