Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

May 3: Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (ie a novella or something to see what they grew up to be) — you could always just pick YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.

Top Ten Characters I’d Love to Read about as Adults.

 

secret garden

1. The Secret Garden; Frances Hodgson Burnett. I wonder how Colin and his cousin Mary grew up. Better for knowing each other, for sure.

ready not

2. Ready or Not; Meg Cabot. She rescued the President, and then mastered her art classes. What might she do in ten years?

Matilda

3. Matilda; Roald Dahl. It would be fun to see how this smart little girl grew up into an intelligent woman. Maybe she’d be a teacher, like her adoptive mother.

coraline

4. Coraline; Neil Gaiman. Coraline was brave and smart as a child, and if she didn’t need therapy for years after that incident, I’d be surprised. Still she’s tough, so maybe she was okay.

paper towns

5. Paper Towns; John Green. I’m not terribly fond of Margo or Quentin, but that’s part of the reason I wonder what they’d be like as adults. Quentin could use some growing up, and Margo some finding herself, and then who knows?

terrier

6. Terrier; Tamora Pierce. Beka Cooper is a determined young lady, fighting crime as a city guard. We get to meet her descendants, but not see her grown.

shepherds crown

7. The Shepherd’s Crown; Terry Pratchett. Tiffany is fairly grown up in this book, and yet… I feel like we didn’t get enough of her.

eleanor park

8. Eleanor & Park; Rainbow Rowell. Mostly I just want to know those three words, but failing that, a sign that they managed to be happy would be amazing.

daughter smoke bone

9. Daughter of Smoke & Bone; Laini Taylor. I pretty much want to know how all of the crew is doing in ten years time. I hope it’s spectacular.

rebel

10. Rebel; Amy Tintera. I wonder how Wren will be doing, but also how the whole pack of young reboots are going to cope.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

22 responses »

  1. Oooh, Coraline would be an interesting one to see how she’s doing! Poor kid. lol. She’s probably on some very nice meds. Where are they then? My TTT.

  2. I have Matilda on my list too and would love to find out what’s up with Eleanor and Park. What were the three words?

  3. Eleanor & Park were on my list, too! I would love to see where they ended up, if it was together or not.

  4. Good choices! 😀 I haven’t made my list yet, but I was also thinking about putting Matilda and Coraline on mine, haha.

  5. tiareleine says:

    Now that I think about it, I’m surprised Daughter of Smoke & Bone didn’t make it onto my list… I do really want to know how things are going with them!

    Great list! 🙂

  6. Carrianne says:

    I’d love to see what happened with Colin and Mary as well. I think it’d be an interesting read to see how their relationship evolved as they got older.

    I agree with Matilda! I want to see more of what happened with her and her adoptive mother.

    Great list! Here’s my TTT. 😀

  7. Mari says:

    Oooh, Beka! Yes, I’d definitely like to see her ten years after Mastiff. I imagine she’d be just as enjoyable a character as Alanna, Daine, and Kel 😀

  8. I totally agree with Mary and Colin from Secret Garden, Matilda, Eleanor and Park, and I love that you include Sam from All American Girl. I was disappointed by how that sequel ended so hearing where she ends up in 10 years would be interesting.

    My TTT: https://greenishbookshelf.com/2016/05/03/top-10-tuesday-characters-i-would-love-to-revisit/

  9. I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone but I completely agree with you Id love to read more about everyone in ten years time. I have Eleanor and Park on my to-read list so I am really excited to get around to it when I have the chance.
    Great picks for this week 😀

  10. j.belk says:

    Oh, I totally forgot about Paper Towns!! I love anything John Green, so I’m sure I’ll want to revisit his characters in a few years (if not this year, lol) 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

What are your thoughts?

