Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

May 10: Ten Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books (you could go specific and do like top ten favorite food/travel/craft/fitness blogs I follow, 10 websites I visit daily,  10 9 fun websites I waste a lot of time on etc.)

This reminded me that nearly all of my online time is book related. But here’s 10 websites I spend a lot of time on, that aren’t about books. Really. Maybe book-adjacent…

 

 

bloggess

1. The Bloggess. So she’s a writer, but she mostly talks about non-book-related things, like taxidermy, anxiety, and the way she messes with her husband.

2. Dreamscope. All sorts of wacky filters, to seriously warp your pictures.

etsy

3. Etsy. This site has so many handmade things for fans of pretty much anything, beautiful clothes, jewelry, etc. I can waste so much time staring at all the pretties.

kickstarter

4. Kickstarter. Sometimes I back the projects, other times I only admire them.

mental floss

5. Metalfloss (YouTube). Often random, never boring.

postsecret

6. PostSecret. Most of the secrets are sad, but sometimes they funny or hopeful.

think geek

7. Thinkgeek. For all your nerdy needs. I own quite a few things from this site….

vlog brothers

8. Vlog brothers (YouTube). Brothers Hank and John Green make videos for each other, telling stories, sharing events, and generally being funny and sweet.

welcome to night vale

9. Welcome to Night Vale. A podcast, funny and apologetically strange and I love it.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

19 responses »

  1. Hmm, I’ve heard of thinkgeek before. I remember them having some stuff I liked. Need to check them out again. Where I spend my time.

  2. I haven’t heard of most of these. I’m going to have to check some of them out.
    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/05/10/top-ten-tuesday-ten-websites-i-love-that-arent-about-books/

  3. tiareleine says:

    I completely forgot about Mental Floss! I used to love that website!

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    I have seen The Bloggess on another site too – I must check that one out. Thanks

  5. Jamie Wu says:

    I love the vlogbrothers too. DFTBA! I like to listen to John talk while he plays FIFA too. Haha. ThinkGeek looks amazing. Gonna look through the catalog.

  6. j.belk says:

    Ooooo, I love Etsy! Etsy is literally the reason why I’m broke besides buying books lol. The Vlog Brothers are awesome as well, but that may just be because I love John Green xD

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

  7. Oh my god I LOVE Welcome to Night Vale, I’m not a huge podcast person but I always tune into every episode pretty much the moment it’s released! And obviously Etsy is a big one of mine too. Great picks for this week.

What are your thoughts?

