Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

May 17: Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim (however you decide to interpret that (bought or read or something else) — I know most people read based on recommendation but we want to know those books you picked up without really hearing about or knowing much about!)

1. The Girl with Ghost Eyes; M.h. Boroson. The cover jumped out at me on a library acquisitions email, and now I’m eagerly waiting for the next book.

horimiya

2. Horimiya; Hero. Also on a library email, and I thought it seemed cute. A sweet romance.

roses and rot

3. Roses and Rot; Kat Howard. A title that caught my eye on my library acquisitions email, which I’m looking forward to.

illuminae

4. Iluminae; Amie Kaufman. Spotted this on a bunch of TTT posts. Love the use of various texts.

life changing

5. The Life-Changing Magic of not Giving a F*ck; Sarah Knight. The title caught my eye in a bookstore, and it turns out to have some good things to say about saying ‘no.’

shadow queen

6. The Shadow Queen; C.J. Redwine. Saw this on a blog, and I love fairy-tale retellings, which this cover promised.

girl waits gun

7. Girl Waits with Gun; Amy Stewart. The cover caught my eye in a bookstore. It’s a based on true history story, with strong women.

wink poppy midnight

8. Wink Poppy Midnight; Genevieve April Tucholke. Saw this beautiful cover on a blog. It’s a rather lyrical story, and not for everyone, but worth looking up.

rat queens

9. Rat Queens; Kurtis Wiebe. Read a few pages in a bookstore, and decided to get it from the library.

sorcerer wildeeps

10. The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps; Kai Ashante Wilson. Saw this on a blog review. It’s a great adventure!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. I still haven’t read Winky Poppy Midnight or Illuminae. So cool that you picked them up on a whim. 🙂
    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/05/17/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-picked-up-on-a-whim/

  2. Sadia says:

    I adored Illuminae!

    • I usually like books that use different forms of text, and this one handled the narrative wonderfully, without seeming contrived.

      • Sadia says:

        I tend to approach formatted books with skepticism…though it quickly turns to like once I get used to the format. The Boy Next Door, which is written in e-mail format, was a great one.

  3. tiareleine says:

    I picked up Wink Poppy Midnight because of the cover as well! I do that a lot, actually.

    Great list! 🙂

  4. Mari says:

    I’ve been seeing Wink Poppy Midnight show up on many a blogger’s feed lately. I really should add this to my TBR. Illuminae as well!

    • WPM, I should warn you, is very lyrical, with a lot of focus on how the story is told–which in some cases impacts the narrative. But it’s pretty interesting.
      Illuminae was quite attention grabbing, though it reminded me strongly of a certain old scifi movie.

  5. […] The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine. I recently discovered this from a Top Ten Tuesday (Thank you, Caitlin!) and when I was at the bookstore the other day I couldn’t resist getting […]

What are your thoughts?

