Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

May 24:  Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)

goblin emperor

1. The Goblin Emperor; Katherine Addison. This is a sort of quiet book, and it took a little while after I’d read it for it to grow on me. But it did.

on the edge

2. On the Edge; Ilona Andrews. At first, I liked these books less for not being about Kate. Since then, I’ve warmed to them on their own merits.

Print

Print

3. Soulless; Gail Carriger. This book, and its series, were in the first books of steampunk I read, and I adored it. They’re still good, but they’re definitely towards the light and fluffy side of steampunk.

The Fault in Our Stars

4. The Fault in Our Stars; John Green. The first reading of this book was too much of an emotional gut-punch to notice that some of the characters are a little… fanciful.

dead until dark

5. Dead Until Dark; Charlaine Harris. I loved the first books of this series, then slowly loved the later books less. Going back and re-reading, perhaps those later books changes how I saw the early ones.

throne of glass

6. Throne of Glass; Sarah J Maas. Don’t get me wrong, this is a fun read–but the sheer drama of it doesn’t hold up quite as well when you know the ending.

station eleven

7. Station Eleven; Emily Saint John Mandel. A quiet sort of book, rather dreamy in surprising ways for the setting, but it lingers in your mind.

to ride pegasus

8. To Ride Pegasus; Anne McCaffrey. I loved these books so much as a kid I don’t think I can ever read them without nostalgia, but I don’t connect to the characters quite like I used to.

city and city2

9. The City & the City; China Mieville. The first read through of any of Mieville’s books usually ends in confusion. This one, I wasn’t so fond of the protagonist, but the whole thing grew on me.

the martian

10. The Martian; Andy Weir. I liked this book, but I didn’t expect it to have the staying power it does. I’ve read it several times now, and it still makes me laugh.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

9 responses »

  1. Totally feel you on The Martian. I love listening to that book, and have done so countless times. It holds up so well! My TTT

  2. Station Eleven still lingers with me too. It’s definitely a book that sticks with you.

    I’m going to have to give On the Edge another try. I couldn’t get into it, because it wasn’t Kate Daniels.

    • I don’t feel obligated to like a book by an author just because I love a different series/book. But the Edge books are solid, in my opinion. Still not Kate, though. 😉

  3. tiareleine says:

    I have Throne of Glass on my list as well… well, I actually have Queen of Shadows, but it kind of goes for the whole series. I loved ToG so much, but I’m beginning to see a lot of problems with it (and the rest of the series, so far) that I missed or let slide before. :/

  4. I so agree with the Sookie Stackhouse series!!! I forgot about that one. Great choices.
    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/05/24/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-feel-differently-about-after-time-has-passed/

What are your thoughts?

