Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

May 31: Beach Reads Week — top ten great beach reads, ten books I plan to read on the beach, ten beach reads for those who don’t like typical ~beach reads~, ten authors who are my go-to for beach reads, etc.

I’m not too much of a beach person, being inclined to burn despite all the sunscreen in the world. But if I did have a big umbrella over a nice chair or hammock, these are the books I’d be most excited to read while listening to the waves.

half yellow sun

1. Half of a Yellow Sun; Chimamanda Adichie. A nice sunny cover for the beach.

throne crescent moon

2. Throne of the Crescent Moon; Saladin Ahmed. A magical adventure makes a great beachy read.

half a creature

3. Half A Creature from the Sea; David Almond. Just for that title.

passenger

4. Passenger; Alexandra Bracken. Have you ever seen how they get ships in bottles? It’s impressive.

illusive

5. Illusive; Emily Lloyd-Jones. I’ve had my eye on this superhero book for a while, it looks like a great story.

ember crow

6. The Disappearance of Ember Crow; Ambelin Kwaymullina. A sequel I have been impatiently waiting for, a riveting dystopian.

summer days summer nights

7. Summer Days and Summer Nights; Stephanie Perkins. Summer, the beach, and love.

spirals in time

8. Spiral in Time; Helen Scales. What better place than the beach to read a book about seashells?

sky pirates

9. Sky Pirates; Liesel Schwartz. Nothing says beach like steampunk!

shattered court

10. Shattered Court; M.J. Scott. I think this is set in an island kingdom…

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to read Summer Days and Summer Nights! It’s (obviously) perfect for summer. 🙂

  2. tiareleine says:

    Summer Days and Summer Nights is on my list as well. I have high hopes that it will be fantastic, and I know it will be seasonally appropriate.

    Great list! 🙂

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but I have heard great things about some of them. I want to read Summer Days and Summer Nights, too!
    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/05/31/top-ten-tuesday-down-and-dirty-in-the-sand/

What are your thoughts?

