It’s no secret that I love P & P, book remakes of all sorts, and movies based on books, so this movie was right up my alley! Although I wasn’t much impressed with the book–it fell a little flat, leaning a bit too heavily on big chunks of the source material–I did enjoy and would recommend the movie!

ppz

It’s willing to be silly, which every good parody needs to, I think. And it isn’t very accurate–there’s sweeping changes to wardrobe, attitude, good manners, and definitely how men and women interact. But the changes are all in favor of making the plot more action-packed (except for maybe the wardrobe), and in pursuit of zombie mayhem.

And there’s plenty of mayhem and fighting, along with the expected romances. This world’s zombies, it turns out, start becoming contagious soon after they’re bitten, but don’t really appear dead until they eat someone. And the clothes do cover people from neck to fingertips to toes, so a bite is easy to hide. And a stealth zombie can do a lot of damage!

If you like a great deal of fighting (with swords and axes and guns), romance with plenty of drama, pretty outfits, and zombies, this is a fun movie to watch.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

What are your thoughts?

