Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

June 14: Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year (since we did a topic about the releases we were excited about for the first half of 2016 back in the beginning of the year) Feel free to tweak it how you want to — like most anticipated fantasy for the second half of 2016 or debut authors. Whatever you want!

I’m going for a list of books coming out in the second half of 2016, all of which I am terribly excited to read. 😀

magic binds

1. Magic Binds; Ilona Andrews. This is one of my favorite series, and it’s really starting to ramp up the action!

paper and fire

2. Paper & Fire; Rachel Caine. I loved the first book in this series. Books about libraries are almost always amazing.

crooked kingdom

3. Crooked Kingdom; Leigh Bardugo. The first book was fascinating, so I hope this one is, too.

solutions and other problems

4. Solutions & Other Problems; Allie Brosh. Recommended by, and similarly laugh-out-loud funny to, The Bloggess.

imprudence

5. Imprudence; Gail Carriger. It’s not easy being the daughter of a werewolf and the adopted daughter of a vampire, but Pru had been managing until recently… but something is worrying her parents.

obelisk gate

6. The Obelisk Gate; N.K. Jemisin. So much drama in the first book! A terrible mistreatment of people with a certain skill leads, as you’d expect, to revolution.

gemina

7. Gemina; Amie Kaufman. I love stories that incorporate letter/ texts/ notes/ emails/ etc., and the first book in this series did that very well.

(No cover yet)

8. Once Broken Faith; Seanan McGuire. The latest book in her Toby Daye series, which I adore.

long cosmos

9. The Long Cosmos; Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter. I was quite sad to read the last ever Discworld book, and though I don’t love this series as much, it will be sad to read this last ever Long Earth book. But I’m eager to see how it goes.

project elfhome

10. Project Elfhome; Wen Spencer. This particular mix of magic and reality has been a favorite of mine for years, and each new book adds to my enjoyment. This short story collection will, I hope, do the same.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

20 responses »

  1. Gemina!

    I just could not get into Long Earth. At the end of the first book, I looked at my partner and said something along the lines of “I’m pretty sure there was a plot buried in here somewhere, but I’m not sure it actually made it there.”

    My Most Anticipated.

  2. Marcia says:

    Boy, I’m with you on Magic Binds. I simply can’t wait! The last book was so fantastic, and Kate & her Beast Lord remain favorites of mine, for sure. Also, Paper and Fire. Oh, man, did I ever love the first one! Libraries, great characters, and a cover I just love to pat! 🙂 Rachel Caine is a favorite author of mine, anyway, and this series rocks it. And I’ve been planning to read Leigh Bardugo for a long time, too. I think I’ve already downloaded her first book. Must get going on that! The cover alone is worth it! Thanks for an intriguing list, Caitlin. Good choices.

  3. The only one we have the same is Crooked Kingdom. I’ve seen it on every list I’ve read today. 🙂

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/06/14/top-ten-tuesday/

  4. Ahhh…I can’t wait for Magic Binds either!!!!

  5. tiareleine says:

    Great list! I’m looking forward to Crooked Kingdom and Gemima as well (although they didn’t make it onto my list this week, since there are so many books I’m looking forward to, so I had to leave a few off!) 🙂

  6. I haven’t had the pleasure of experiencing the epistolary/dossier narrative in Illuminae but have definitely enjoyed that format in other books. I’m also quite excited for Crooked Kingdom!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  7. @lynnsbooks says:

    Some good books on here! I especially want the Bardugo book – so looking forward to continuing that story.
    Lynn 😀

  8. Run Wright says:

    #4 and #7 look really interesting. Looking them up now too.
    Are we following each other? Let’s do that so we can compare reviews.
    http://runwright.net

  9. Such a fun list! I keep hearing good things about the Six of Crows series. I will need to check that out. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier 🙂

What are your thoughts?

