Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

June 21: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year. (All 2016 releases I gave 4 or 5 stars to.)

city of blades

1. City of Blades; Robert Jackson Bennett.

marked in flesh

2. Marked in Flesh; Anne Bishop.

fire touched

3. Fire Touched; Patricia Briggs.

Layout 1

4. Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen; Lois McMaster Bujold.

admiral

5. Admiral; Sean Danker.

jane steele

6. Jane Steele; Lyndsay Faye.

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

7. The Forbidden Wish; Jessica Khoury.

reflections

8. Reflections; Seanan McGuire.

calamity

9. Calamity; Brandon Sanderson.

raven king

10. The Raven King; Maggie Stiefvater.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

20 responses »

  1. Hm, Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen has an interesting cover. I’m almost always intrigued when I see the helix used.

    My Top Ten.

  2. I love Patricia Briggs. Her latest almost made it to my Top 10 too.

  3. I am happy The Raven King made your list. I STILL need to read that one. Shame on me!
    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/06/21/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-favorite-2016-releases-so-far-this-year/

  4. Marcia says:

    You had me at Brandon Sanderson, then clinched the deal with Patricia Briggs, Seanan McGuire, and my favorite of all, I think, Maggie Stiefvater. (Well, except for Jim Butcher, of course. Dresden Rules!) And I still have Both Blue Lily, and The Raven King yet to read. I plan to take a week off between publishing Harbinger and starting on Riverbend #3, just to READ! And more of the Raven Boys is definitely on my list! Though now that I’m totally hooked on Bardugo’s Grisha books, I suspect I’ll be moving on to the next trilogy first. OMG, these books are GOOD!! Some of the best fantasy I’ve read, and breaking my heart in places, too. I’m still holding out for a happy ending of some sort, though. 🙂

    Thanks for a good list. Taking notes, as always.

    • We do have excellent taste. 😉

      • Marcia says:

        We do, indeed!! I didn’t remember that you read Sanderson, though. I reallyreally like his books, even the YA. His Mistborn series was very good, and following it with the Alloy of Law books was just perfect. I’ve got Bands of Mourning sitting here on a little easel in front of the rest of my TBR pile. I’m taunting myself with it! 😀

        • I plan to start with the Sanderson series from the beginning, as soon as I have the time.
          The TBR pile is never ending!

          • Marcia says:

            I really loved Mistborn, except for one thing. But I won’t tell you what that is, because it would definitely be a spoiler. However, it was STILL very good. And I like the Alloy of Law books even better. So much fun! Hope you enjoy them. NEXT WEEK, I swear, I’m reading the rest of the Raven books. I’m going to savor every word, and pray I don’t have to take out a hit on Maggie Stiefvater when I’m done. 😀 Gansey is a major favorite of mine, and I’m seriously worried about him. *sigh*

  5. foxyblogs1 says:

    I haven’t read any of these…but I keep thinking about reading a The Raven King. I have several friends who are huge fans of that author.

    TTT: http://wp.me/p4uAPW-2FZ

  6. Mari says:

    Fire Touched! I’ve been loving the Mercy Thompson universe all this time, but I do think Fire Touched has become one of my absolute favorites in the series.

  7. Nehaa says:

    Marked in flesh is awesome and I’m thinking of reading The Reckoners series by Brandon Sanderson. I’ve only read his Mistborn series and its spinoff.

What are your thoughts?

