Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

June 28: FREEBIE WEEK — topic of your choice or go back and do one you missed!

Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Reread (But I Keep Reading New Books Instead) I got this idea from another blogger, but forgot to make note of the name. Thanks, whoever you are!

on the edge

1. On the Edge; Ilona Andrews. I bought, and re-read their Kate Daniels series, but I only checked these out from the library.

belgarath

2. Belgarath the Sorcerer; David & Leigh Eddings. This and the book about his daughter were childhood  favorites of mine, but it’s been a while.

carnivores of lighttriumph of soulsthinking kingdoms

3. Carnivores of Light and Darkness, A Triumph of Souls, Into the Thinking Kingdoms; Alan Dean Foster. Recently found the last two books of this series at a used book store, so now I can re-read at my leisure.

neverwhere

4. Neverwhere; Neil Gaiman. I got a lovely author’s preferred text, but haven’t read it yet, though I read the (non-preferred) version a few times.

redwall

5. Redwall; Brian Jacques. It’s been a while since I’ve been to Redwall.

station eleven

6. Station Eleven; Emily St. John Mandel. I read this a year ago, time to take another pass, I think.

ship who sang

7. The Ship who Sang; Anne McCaffrey. I mentioned this in a recent TTT, and it made me want to read it again.

witches abroad

8. Witches Abroad; Terry Pratchett. A favorite series, and it’s time to revisit the older ones.

eleanor park

9. Eleanor & Park; Rainbow Rowell. Read this from the library, then bought it–and haven’t re-read my shiny new copy yet.

where sidewalk ends

10. Where the Sidewalk Ends; Shel Silverstein. A nice light collection of poems that always makes me smile.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I haven’t read most of these the first time, yet. I’ve only gotten interested in real fantasy in the last couple of years, so I have a lot of catching up to do with that genre. Urban fantasy, I’m pretty familiar with, and I love The Edge series, with my favorite being Bayou Moon. I’m still unhappy with how they stopped the series with no resolution, though. 😦 Wishing they’d go back and finish.

    I HAVE discovered Sir Terry Pratchett in my old age, and LOVE every book I’ve read, but I have too many more Discworld books to work through to start repeating yet. I do admit, Wee Free Men calls to me every time I walk past the bookshelf. One of the funniest books I’ve ever read.

    And Neverwhere is brilliant. Gaiman amazes me every time.

    Other than that, the rest are new to me, but I’m taking note of a couple of them.

    Great post, as always, Caitlin. Thanks!

    • It’s always fun to see where people who read many genres started from. Maybe the first genre you read effects how you chose your next one(s).
      But it’s fun to convince you to read my old favorites, especially when you like them! 🙂

      • Marcia says:

        So true. But right now, all I can think about is how much I want to read Bayou Moon again. I absolutely adore William Wolf. Nicki and I are still wandering around looking at things, going, “Pretty. Prettypretty. Wantwantwantwant.” 😀

        It would really be sad to ignore the 200+ books on my TBR pile and re-read Bayou Moon for the FOURTH time, wouldn’t it? *snort!*

  2. Oh my god, you are literally the first person I’ve seen on here who has also read On the Edge. It’s one of my favorite books, and the whole series is just incredible. I included Steel’s Edge in my own Top Ten for this week: https://dianaprincereviews.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/top-ten-tuesday-bloggers-choice/ Overall, I love your picks!

  3. Omg I remember reading Where the Sidewalk Ends when I was younger! That brings back memories!

What are your thoughts?

