This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is a WIP, NaNoWriMo 2015, Forest Wed. Adann and Kaie (who was engaged), are married as symbols of their gods, and 2 weeks into their marriage, the gods’ blessing and the town are suffering, so they are sent on a hunting trip with two experienced hunters (Rui and Corliss). On the second day, Kaie and Adann are sitting beside the fire after the evening meal, and Kaie reveals that he’s been wishing the groom had died a couple weeks later, after Kaie had married and left town.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“I’m glad he didn’t,” Adann said, simply, instead of bringing up her thoughts on his need to let go of his past again. “You were the last choice, remember? The god didn’t choose anyone else.”

Kaie nodded.

“I would hate to be the cause of a sundering, of a husband taken from his wife –how he would have hated me, for separating him from his love!”

A pained noise escaped Kaie.

“I suppose what they chose instead isn’t much different, since you hate me for the same.” Adann frowned into the fire, “Unless they had children, which perhaps is the only thing that could make me feel more terrible than I do now.”

Kaie opened his mouth, and then closed it with a quiet click. He sat beside her, as intent on the fire as she was, wishing it could give them some omen on the future.

*    *    *

Beikife is a small town in something like the Amazon rain forest, protected by a pair of married gods. The gods are represented by human avatars, two young people chosen and married by divine power. The strength of the marriage represents the bond between the gods’ blessing, so the new forest wed must find a way to connect to each other, or the crops will fail, the rivers will flood, and the cursed monsters that live in the forest will claim many lives.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

23 responses »

  1. chellecordero says:

    Well it is obvious he feels tuck and now poor Adann feels guilty through no fault of her own doing. Very emotional.

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    Interesting tidbit there, Caitlin. Children? Hmmm.

    Adann is quite fearless in her exposure of Kaie. Does she have ‘claircognition’, I wonder?

    • I condensed a bit, so perhaps my meaning got confused. All Adann is saying is that if Kaie had been gone, having been the god’s only choice in the unmarried men, a married man would have been chosen–a man who might have had kids.

  3. Nancy Gideon says:

    Great bit of revealing dialog, Catlin. Raises all sorts of questions.

  4. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    I’m glad Adann isn’t holding back her own feelings. Maybe this conversation can help them move on instead of keeping all this tension in. Great snippet! 🙂

  5. At least they’re talking. Well, she is! After all, there doesn’t seem to be any going back on this selection so he’d better get used to it! Great snippet.

  6. Utter honesty is cleansing, huh? I wonder what he was going to say.

    I am so intrigued with this story, Caitlin. I can’t imagine how there can be happiness, given the circumstances. 🙂

  7. Two young people with such a problem to begin with. I hope they resolve their problems.

  8. Botanist says:

    Looks like Adann’s managed an effective turnaround – reminding him that they’re both caught up in something bigger than either of them.

    • He does know that… he just doesn’t want to be. Honestly, if I were some kind of chosen one, I’d want to run screaming, too. It always comes with a lot of suffering!

  9. A painful moment, but it had to come out sometime. Adann is fearless in the way she confronts it!

  10. Ed Hoornaert says:

    This issue has been percolating to the surface over several weeks of snippets, but today it’s completely in the open. I’m wondering how Kaie. I also wonder if the town’s suffering is an external manifestation of their marital suffering.

  11. Interesting snippet. I am wondering why the subject of children has just come up. Significant?

    • Adann is only imagining a worst case scenario–that this possible other groom could have children she’d be taking him from.
      Though it is expected she and Kaie would have kids, since they’ll be married the rest of their lives.

  12. At least they’re talking… ? This was a really emotional snippet. I love how much character we’re seeing here.

What are your thoughts?

