I love Little Free Libraries. The idea of a community of readers, sharing books, is wonderful, as is the many ways people decorate their libraries. Whenever I travel, I always check the world map to see if there’s some in the area. Often enough, there is, and I can add a mini-bookish adventure to my day. And it’s always fun to see what kind of books each one has collected!

lfl corpus school2

This schoolhouse library, complete with a little bell, had flags in the flower-pot in front of it, which you can just see the tops of. It’s a bit taller than the usual, so I quite like the use of space with the split shelves.

lfl corpus white

This library has a more simple design, but is livened up by the bookish quote: “A library book, I imagine, is a happy book.” -Cornelia Funke, and a little garden art.

lfl corpus tardis2

Another simple enough design, but one that clearly more than a bit resembles a certain police box. Why not combine your love of books with something else you love?

lfl corpus tardis

And this library also had a theme for the Fourth of July holiday– some red, white, and blue books, and some history books, as well as a little banner.

Hope everyone’s weekend was full of fun and reading! And a happy Fourth for everyone who celebrates.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    We have one of these a couple blocks from our house. It make a nice stop when walking the dog — although I have to admit, I’ve never yet seen Twiggles read any of the book we pick up.

What are your thoughts?

