Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flower border

July 12: Ten Facts About Me (bookish or just general about you facts or ten facts about you as a blogger…whatever you want)

Here’s a mix of all three, because coming up with ten fact is tough!

reading stack

1. I am often actively reading three or four books at once.

2. Even though I have a large bookmark collection, I still end up using random slips of paper as bookmarks.

3. When bringing shelter cats out for people to visit, I sometimes fold them into their bed. “Taco cats” amuse me greatly.

4. I’m hardly ever sure what to say on a book review post, but I love reading other people’s.

5. Bookstagram is proving to be terribly addictive.

kittens

6. I can carry up to four kittens, if they’re small and cooperative–larger/ uncooperative, I stick to two.

7. As long as there aren’t too many obstacles, I can read and walk at the same time.

journal

8. Despite how many journals I own, I will always buy more.

9. Until I reached college, I would not DNF a book, no matter how much I hated it.

shoes snow (2)

10. Air conditioning makes me want a jacket, but I’ll wear sandals in freezing weather (but not snow on purpose.)

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

18 responses »

  1. Maria Casacalenda (Big City Bookworm) says:

    I also read about 3 books at once haha it’s so hard to stick to just one! Here is a link to my TTT if you’re interested in learning some random facts about me!😉

    • I have a system–usually there’s a e-book I can read on my phone if I get bored, an ARC, a hardback I can’t fit in my purse, and a paperback I carry around it my purse. Perfect sense! 😉

      • Maria Casacalenda (Big City Bookworm) says:

        Exactly! I usually have an audiobook I listen to on buses or while I get ready in the morning, an ebook for lunch breaks at work and a physical book for when I’m on the Subway/chilling at home!

  2. I can relate to #4. Reviews are so hard to write. I always feel like everyone else is so much better at constructing them. 🙂 Nice list!

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/07/12/top-ten-tuesday-the-one-where-i-tell-you-all-about-my-love-of-contemporary-romances/

  3. I am so jealous of everyone who can read more than one book at a time! I just can’t do it.
    I get distracted in everyday life way too much, so it’s ten times worse when I’m reading!

    I always pick up a journal whenever I’m at the bookstore I feel like, I just can’t say no if I find a super cute one. They look so cute on a shelf 🙂

  4. WHAT?! How can you read so many books at once? I can’t even read two books at once without getting them mixed up! (which is why I have to write my reviews before starting to read another book. *sigh*) That is a skill right there and I’m quite jealous of it.

    What on earth is the function of bookstagram? I’m still so lost on this. (granted, I don’t take pictures of much so…)

    I would like to say that #7 is definitely talent! I care too much about where I’m walking to read and walk at the same time. Though, that might be due more to my ability to be distracted easily. I can’t read when there’s music or people talking either. :/ (Though, I am attempting to overcome this issue as we speak. ^.^)

    Great TTT! Thanks for linking me to it!

    • I really don’t know. I just do–somehow, all the plots stay separate in my brain.
      Bookstagram’s function is to be pretty pictures of books. Why I find it so fascinating, I couldn’t say.
      Unless the book isn’t interesting, I am in a different world–sometimes people have to physically get between my eyes and the pages to get my attention.

  5. I think I’m reading four books right now, LOL. A lot of people say the plot lines get mixed together, but I’ve never had that problem. The worst that happens is I forget what was going on and have to reread the previous chapter. However, I have yet to master reading and walking. I’m too clumsy to even talk on the phone while I walk. Maybe if it’s a straight road with no bumps or stairs, haha.

    My TTT!

  6. tiareleine says:

    I didn’t really DNF books until college either. I think probably because when I got to college I started to realize I had better uses for my time that reading something I didn’t enjoy… like reading something I do enjoy!

    And also homework :/

  7. I completely relate to #1 and #4!

  8. Nicole says:

    I relate to so many of yours! I also read multiple books at once. It just doesn’t really work for me if I have only one. I have too many journals to count and I’ll buy more. I’ve now started to buy my second and third favorites in the store because I realized I don’t want to write in the pretty journals and “ruin” them lol. I love your list. Happy reading!

    • I have one journal–a handmade leather one with a repurposed door hinge closure that I have to save for something special, but the rest… I love seeing a pretty cover every time I close them.

What are your thoughts?

