Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

August 2: Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card.

Narrowing this down to ten was harder than I thought–but also rather fun.

moon over soho

1. Moon Over Soho; Ben Aaronovitch. The next book I’m missing from a particular edition of the series I’m collecting.

giant daysgiant days 2

2. Giant Days (Vol 1 & 2); John Allison. I loved the first book, really curious about the second.

secret garden wc

3. The Secret Garden; Francis Hogson Burnett. A leather bound edition to match books I already own.

finding magic

4. Finding Magic; Tanya Huff. The hardback is pretty expensive, so I’ve been contemplating it used.

Cinder

5. Cinder: Marissa Meyer. This is the only book I need to finish the series, but I’ve been waiting to find it used.

embassytown

6. Embassytown; China Mieville. A book I’ve read before and want to own.

temporally out of order

7. Temporally Out of Order; Seanan McGuire, etc. A collection with authors I know I like.

urban allies

8. Urban Allies; Joseph Nassise. A lot of authors I love in this collection.

Mort

9. Mort; Terry Pratchett. Really, many of these lovely collector’s editions, but especially this one.

hpcc

10. Harry Potter & The Cursed Child; J.K. Rowling. 🙂

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. I bet Harry’s going to be showing up a lot today! Such a highly anticipated book. I can see why it made your list. 🙂

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/08/02/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-youd-buy-right-this-second-if-someone-handed-you-a-fully-loaded-gift-card/

  2. Tanja says:

    I hope you enjoy The Cursed Child. I know a lot of people were disappointed, but I loved it 😀

  3. Random Reads says:

    Great list! Harry Potter and The Cursed Child ended up on my list too 🙂

  4. tiareleine says:

    I still haven’t decided if I want to read HP and the Cursed Child… I mean, I want to, but I’m afraid that it won’t be what I want it to be because it’s a script rather than a book… :/ But it looks so nice! And it’s Harry Potter!

    Great list!

  5. Ashley says:

    Great list! 🙂 I just got the Cursed Child and I can’t wait to dive into it!

  6. Mari says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever paid full-price for a Harry Potter book, not until The Cursed Child came out, lol. Though, to be honest, the experience of going to midnight release parties was well worth its sale price.

    Cinder! I still have to get Winter to complete my collection, but since my copies of the first three books are in paperback, I’m going to wait until Winter finally comes out in paperback, preferably when it eventually shows up on BookOutlet or something, hah.

    • I went the lazier pre-order route for the last couple books, after being given the first few as a gift. I bet the release parties are fun, though!
      Winter I got in hardback, because I had to read it. Right. Now. But the rest I’m finding at used bookstores.

      • Mari says:

        I found a copy of Winter at my library and yoinked that off the shelf so fast, lol! I totally understand the “must read now” bit. Completely.

What are your thoughts?

